By Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Letting your Property | My Booking | Help | Shortlist
Refine search
Back to Search

Thornsdale - The Granary

Iden Rye Grade 0 Star rating View Map
Pets 2
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £37.00 booking fee.



Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date

Why Us?

This Cottage is brought to you by:

English Country Cottages

From a touch of luxury to characterful heritage, experience one of our truly inspiring holiday properties.


Pet friendly cottage with wood burning stove and inglenook fireplace, Rye Harbour Nature Reserve and Camber Sands nearby.

This attractive detached house set in the owner’s grounds provide spacious holiday accommodation situated at the end of a mile-long lane in glorious rural surroundings. Pet friendly and offering a plethora of walks on the doorstep, the cottage offers good quality linen and towels and a superb self catering base. There is a public footpath leading off the owner’s drive providing miles of walks across open countryside. A trip to picturesque Rye enables visitors to sample local foods at the Wednesday morning farmers market which is held at Strand Quay. By taking a stroll along the cobbled streets, there is also the chance to buy a memento from one of the many independently-owned shops and boutiques, art galleries and potteries - or even start Christmas shopping from the wide selection of goods available! Also worth a visit are Rye Harbour Nature Reserve, Camber Sands and Camber Castle – this area of saltmarsh protects some very special wildlife, and footpaths lead to four birdwatching hides. The picturesque market town of Battle makes for an enjoyable day out, as well as Hastings, the Sealife Centre and Pevensey Castle (where the Romans invaded). The area is also well known for its local vineyards including Chapel Down and Sedlescombe. A trip to Tenterden - often referred to as the Jewel of the Weald - is an alternative and, for garden lovers, Sissinghurst (NT) is not to be missed. Further National Trust places to visit include Smallhythe Place, Scotney Castle and Bodiam Castle. Day trips to France are possible with the Channel Tunnel a mere 30-minute drive. An excellent sky venue for astrology, photography, or just wishing on a star. Shops 1½ miles, pub 1 mile.

Spacious living room with wood-burning stove in inglenook, oak floor and two sets of French doors to terrace - open plan with games area. Single bedroom. Shower room with toilet. First floor: Well-equipped kitchen/dining room with range (for cooking) and slate floor. Two double bedrooms, one with dressing room, additional single bed (for +1) and en-suite bathroom with shower attachment and toilet. Twin bedroom with zip & link beds (can be double). Bathroom with shower attachment and toilet. Vaulted ceilings throughout first floor.

  • Wood-burning stove - initial fuel included, thereafter available locally
  • Range (7-ring, built-in barbecue) included
  • Washing machine
  • Enclosed garden and terrace with furniture
  • Pool table
  • Parking (for 3 cars); additional parking on request

  • Electricity, full oil central heating, bed linen, towels included
  • Cot
  • High chair
  • Sky TV (movies, kids and entertainment channels)
  • Radio/CD (small library)
  • DVD (small library)
  • iPhone/iPod dock
  • Microwave
  • Tumble dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Fridge/freezer
  • Wi-fi
  • Barbecue
  • Football table
  • No smoking
  • NB: Pond in owner’s grounds

Read more 


  • BarbecueBarbecue
  • Cot AvailableCot Available
  • Detached PropertyDetached Property
  • DishwasherDishwasher
  • Enclosed Garden / PatioEnclosed Garden / Patio
  • Garden / PatioGarden / Patio
  • HighchairHighchair
  • Pub within 1 milePub within 1 mile
  • Rural LocationRural Location
  • Satellite TVSatellite TV
  • Woodburning StoveWoodburning Stove
  • WifiWifi
  • Car Parking AvailableCar Parking Available
  • Washing MachineWashing Machine
  • Green SchemeGreen Scheme

Customer Comments

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 2015-09-14
    Thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at the Granary. We found it exceptionally well equipt and were very comfortable.

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 2015-05-15
    Very enjoyable stay, clean and comfortable, some attention needed around the windows, patio doors, these were covered in cobwebs but it was early in the season so these may not have been opened this year,

  • 5

    Confirmed guest, 2015-05-29
    The cottage is in a beautiful location and has a really nice layout with easy access to go explore. Sadly we did find the cottage a bit dirty and what made that worse was there were no cleaning products to be found anywhere not even toilet bleach, I would expect for such a large property to have some cleaning products available. Plus some minor issues like the taps dripping and down stairs toilet working as and when it chose to. The main disappointment was the garden was not secure. We even telephoned before we booked to confirm the garden was fully enclosed as I have a deaf dog and we were told it was fully secure, there is no gate seperating the front and back of the cottage so it is just open and at the front is a farm gate (which does nothing to keep a dog in) and the left side of the garden had patches of fencing and patches of very low wire fencing (approx 2foot high), which leads into a field of horses ( I discovered chasing my dog across the field) so sadly we could not relax in the lovely garden or have patio doors open which did take the enjoyment out of the accommodation somewhat.

    Response from: Administrator

    Response on behalf of the owner; We are disappointed to hear that you have not fully enjoyed your stay with us at The Granary. In reference to your comments regarding the garden, we can confirm that it fully enclosed by a fence however, a hole had recently been made, possibly by the horses in the adjoining field. This has now been fixed. There is a 5 bar gate toward the front of the property and it is unfortunate your dog was able to get through this however had we been aware, we could of resolved this issue easily. With regard to the cleaning products, we do not leave any in the property for health and safety reasons. If a guest is unhappy with any aspects of the cleaning, we are more than happy to re clean any areas. We ask all of our guests to highlight any issue, however small, during their stay rather than waiting until they return home, so we can take immediate action. Had we been notified at the time of your dissatisfaction, we would have then been in a position to rectify the problems.

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 2015-03-09
    Perfect stay with everything we needed, felt like home as soon as we walked in the door! Great quiet location close to rye.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 2015-02-20
    We had a lovely time in the cottage, It was very spacious with plenty of room for 8, and the kitchen/diner was fantastic. There were loads of games which the children really enjoyed and the wood burner made it very toasty. We were all really sad to leave at the end and would go back again.

    Response from: Administrator

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your very kind comments, hope to see you soon!

  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 2014-12-28
    House was lovely although for the money we felt that there were a few jobs that needed to be done. Bedroom doors were very squeaky, some paintwork needed to be redone, front door and patio doors were very hard to close properly and broken hook in the bathroom, these jobs are only small but would make all the difference.

    Response from: Administrator

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you very much for your comments, we will look at the points you have raised. We do ask guests to contact us with regard to any issues; we really want to know so we can remedy them to make your stay even better. We are so glad you had a good time.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 2015-01-19
    It was perfect for a famy get away, enjoyed by both children and adults!

View All Guest Reviews

8.5 out of 10 – based on 22 reviews collected by Reevoo

You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Alternative properties at this location

Sleeps 10 Property Ref: PFFT View Accommodation

Local Area

Content to be added.

You are now on our new website!

We've made changes to help you browse accommodation on your phone, tablet or desktop. Please let us know what you think by answering a few questions on our short survey below.

Give your feedback Continue

Take me back to the old site