Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again New home of cottages4you Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 98% would book again 30+ years of experience New home of cottages4you
My Booking Help & Support
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Booking'. Close and don't show this message again. x
Shortlist
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

The Former Chapel

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Ashwater, Devon
Grade 4 Star rating
Sleeps6
Bedrooms4
Bathrooms1
Pets 2
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

 

Duration

Loading
Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Done
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Cottages4you collection

cottages4you

In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


Description

A unique chance to stay in a former chapel which makes a great base to explore Exmoor, Dartmoor and Bodmin Moor, all close by.

This former chapel, situated within the pretty Devon village of Ashwater, is the ideal holiday base to explore the delights of both Devon and Cornwall. It features a surround sound TV in the living room. This stunning location has something for everyone including fishing, golf, horse riding, walking and cycling with Exmoor, Dartmoor and Bodmin Moor all easy accessible. The market towns of Holsworthy, Launceston and Okehampton are all within easy driving distance. Shop ½ mile, pub 200 yards.

Ground Floor:
Dining room: With wooden floor.
Kitchen: With electric cooker, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washer/dryer, Freeview TV and tiled floor.
First Floor:
Bedroom 1: With four poster double bed and Freeview TV.
Bathroom: With shower over bath, and toilet.
Separate toilet.
Second Floor:
Living room: With Freeview TV, DVD player with a selection of DVDs, CD player and beams.
Third Floor:
All rooms with Velux windows and beams.
Bedroom 2: With double bed and Freeview TV.
Bedroom 3: With single bed and Freeview TV.
Bedroom 4: With single bed.

Oil central heating, electricity, bed linen and towels included. 2 travel cots. Small enclosed sitting-out area. 2 dogs welcome, to be kept on a lead at all times (sheep country). Private parking for 2 cars. No smoking.

Show amenities 

Features

  • Barbecue
    Barbecue
  • Detached Property
    Detached Property
  • DVD player
    DVD player
  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Fuel and Power Included
    Fuel and Power Included
  • Enclosed Garden / Patio
    Enclosed Garden / Patio
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Rural Location
    Rural Location
  • Shower
    Shower
  • Television
    Television
  • Decorated at Christmas
    Decorated at Christmas
  • Winter Short Breaks
    Winter Short Breaks
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Bed Linen & Towels Included
    Bed Linen & Towels Included
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Heritage Collection
    Heritage Collection
  • Church or Chapel
    Church or Chapel
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site

Customer Comments

  • 9

    17/04/2018
    Confirmed guest, 07/04/2018
    The Former chapel was lovely, with lovely views and quiet surroundings with excellent local pub and shop. Very friendly people.


  • 9

    08/03/2018
    Confirmed guest, 24/02/2018
    Had an amazing time, cottage was superb and had everything you could possibly want... downside is the parking is limited but you can always park by the pub which is five minutes walk.. village pub is nice and accomadates both children and dogs and the food is amazing value for money with lots of choice.. village shop is worth a visit if only to support the local community... access to village can be a little concerning if your sat nav is having a bad day but overall an amazing place that I would love to goback time and time again..


  • 10

    26/02/2018
    Confirmed guest, 17/02/2018
    This was just what we were after for our holiday. Warm and cosy, well equipped, quiet village, lovely pub, lovely village shop, friendly locals. Thank you so much for offering this lovely place for holidays, we'd quite happily stay there for a few months! I'm sure we'll be back.


  • 10

    25/11/2017
    Confirmed guest, 20/11/2017
    Lovely cottage and local pub. Decorated for Christmas so really homely. Parking but tight for my car but managed to reverse in - snug but sufficient. Will be booking again.


  • 9

    11/09/2017
    Confirmed guest, 02/09/2017
    loved the property very much. it was the style of the property that made me choose it .we felt at home and could relax in the two large sofas,the parking unfortunatly was a bit tight for my sons car but we soon sorted that out by getting out the car before parking .would like to come again in the near future.


  • 9

    14/08/2017
    Confirmed guest, 05/08/2017
    We found the Former Chapel to be very clean and comfortable had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. Our grandchildren although disappointed not have internet access in the cottage managed really well without and had a great time . The only issue is the tight parking space at the side of the Chapel just take extra care driving into it and you will be fine we had a couple of mishaps . Small friendly shop in the village and the Inn is well worth a visit for dinner


  • 9

    07/07/2017
    Confirmed guest, 24/06/2017
    Peaceful location


  • 7

    21/06/2017
    Confirmed guest, 10/06/2017
    Character cottage very well equipped and situated in a lovely village. Beware that the drive only just fits two small cars and is very narrow and needs care negotiating. There was no welcome pack, note or even any milk left for a drink on arrival which is unusual we find these days. The shower was red hot and needs care when showering because could not be adjusted cooler. However, very quaint cottage lots of TV's and amenities in the cottage and very well fitted. Only a short drive from Bude and lots of great pubs and eating places locally + some lovely museums so overall a very nice week.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your feedback.With reference to the shower being to hot.If you had contacted me as the guests who were in after you had done it would have been dealt with right away. The chapel is 200 years old and unfortunately there is no room to widen the drive modern cars have just got bigger and wider since we purchased the Chapel. We have an SUV and with care it is possible to park.

View All Guest Reviews
×

8.9 out of 10 – based on 9 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.