Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again New home of cottages4you Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 98% would book again 30+ years of experience New home of cottages4you
My Booking Help & Support
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Booking'. Close and don't show this message again. x
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.

The Cottage

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Calver, near Bakewell, Derbyshire
Grade 4 Star rating
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.



Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our English Country Cottages collection

English Country Cottages

An inspiring collection of properties chosen for their character, luxury and heritage, all graded 4 star and above.


Relax within an alluring 180-year-old cottage which has been fully renovated. Centrally placed for visiting Bakewell, Buxton and Chatsworth House.

Set close to the centre of a peaceful, and very pretty village in the heart of the Peak District, this 180-year-old cottage has been attractively furnished throughout in pine. The end one of a little row of three, it has its own small front garden and provides an ideal holiday base for discovering the many attractions of the National Park. Bakewell 4 miles, Chatsworth House 4 miles, Haddon Hall 6 miles, Eyam (Plague village) 2½ miles. Castleton with its caves, the High Peak, the Dales and the market town of Chesterfield with its famous crooked church spire all within 10 miles. Matlock, Matlock Bath, Heights of Abraham and the theme park, Gullivers Kingdom, within 15 miles. The spa town of Buxton, 17 miles, is home to a delightful opera house which hosts several music and theatre festivals each year. There is a large leisure centre in Matlock, and swimming also in Bakewell and Chesterfield. Superb local walks including the spectacular Baslow, Curbar and Froggatt Edges only 1½ miles away. Pony-trekking, cycle hire, golf and tennis easily reached. Village pubs and craft centre nearby. Quality restaurants within 2 miles. Shop ¼ miles.

Beamed sitting room with wood-burning stove. Farmhouse-style kitchen/dining room. First floor: Double bedroom. Twin bedroom (2ft 6in beds). Bathroom with over-bath shower and toilet.

  • Wood-burning stove – logs included
  • Electricity, full gas central heating, bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included
  • High chair
  • TV
  • DVD
  • Microwave
  • Washing machine
  • Fridge/freezer
  • Small garden
  • Rear paved area with garden chairs
  • Roadside parking
  • No smoking

Show amenities 


  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Highchair
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Woodburning Stove
    Woodburning Stove
  • Wifi
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Pets – not allowed
    Pets – not allowed
  • Heritage Collection
    Heritage Collection

Customer Comments

  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 11/02/2018
    Lovely cottage easy to get to, no problem with us arriving late , had a relaxing weekend there The minus side of it Would have been nice if you had a welcome pack Also the water system was not very friendly to use and could be frustrating to operate Over then that would stay there again

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your feedback and I’m pleased you had a relaxing weekend. I’m sorry the water system caused you problems. The device fitted is to prevent a leak causing water damage, and is factory pre-set to bleep and then cut off the water supply, if it is run continuously for around 15 minutes. However there are clear instructions in the cottage handbook explaining how to prevent this happening in use and also directions to press the reset button under the kitchen sink should it happen.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 04/02/2018
    Lovely cottage. Ideal location for walks, but also food shop, coffee place and pub within easy walking distance.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 07/01/2018
    Helpful and friendly service. Cottage is well equipped and very comfortable in an excellent location!

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 03/12/2017
    A lovely comfortable cottage. Excellent pubs and shops in the area. Ideal for visiting Chatsworth.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 01/12/2017
    Very good centre for walking. The cottage is warm , comfortable and well-equipped and in a very quiet location, 2 minutes from the pub.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 30/09/2017
    Brilliant location with something for everyone. Enjoyed the log burner on cooler evenings and visited the great 3 pubs in the village.

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 23/09/2017
    Well equipped and decent sized cottage in a lovely village, close to many attractions. Had a relaxing week, cottage had everything you needed. Not quite as clean as I would have liked but I may be a little OCD with cleanliness. Loved the age and look of the cottage and the village was pretty with plenty to do on its doorstep which meant we didn't have to travel too far. Cottage was well priced and spacious for a 2 bedroom...loved the log burner.

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 23/08/2017
    Very good well equipped cottage

  • 5

    Confirmed guest, 09/08/2017
    A nice cottage in a beautiful location. The problem was poor cleaning and a few repairs would be needed. We had problems with the closing of the front door and also the glass of the shower should be replaced.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your positive feedback about the cottage and its location. My caretaker is as concerned as I am about your comments on the state of cleanliness: it's a shame you couldn't be more specific especially as when she met you on arrival and spoke to you at the end of your stay, you said how pleased you had been with everything. We are dealing with the front door problem.

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 13/07/2017
    The Cottage was perfectly located for exploring the beautiful Peak District. Calver itself is a very pretty village with good amenities. The cottage was very comfortable and clean with a great shower.

  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 09/07/2017
    Good size cottage with a large selection of kitchen utensils. Friendly and helpful caretaker. A couple of maintenance issues were required - back door lock sticking, bathroom door didn't shut or lock (a little awkward with fellow guest)and the toilet seat was loose. Otherwise a lovely stay. Would definitely return.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner:- Thank you for your constructive feedback and I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Oh dear - more problems with the toilet seat, which clearly wasn't the best of fits and I do apologise. I've had another new one fitted and this time am assured it doesn't wobble. We can't understand the problem with the lock on the bathroom door - several people have checked it and it appears to be fine. The backdoor lock is only awkward intermittently and only with some of the keys but we are looking into the cause of this. Look forward to seeing you again.

  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 01/07/2017
    On arrival at 'the Cottage' I was disappointed to find it was not as clean or well cared for as other four star properties I have stayed at. The local caretaker Sally was very helpful in putting these and a couple of other issues right. Overall I think the property would be better rated as three star On a more positive note the cottage is set in a beautiful quiet village and is of a good size and very close to a lot of local attractions - Chatsworth, Bakewell, Bolsover Castle. We had several drives through the dales and moors which were spectacular. There are also many local walks for enthusiasts. There is a well stocked Spar in the village and a large co-op in Bakewell for food shopping. Unfortunately there is no garden at the cottage only a small courtyard with steep steps.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your feedback. We take all comments seriously and were in touch with Sally during your stay about the issues you raised. Sally cleans and prepares the cottage to a high standard. I am sorry you found it necessary to call her out on the 3 occasions but pleased she responded promptly and to your satisfaction: she apologised and cleaned the smear off the microwave, showed you where the spare toilet tolls are and on the third occasion brought you a vegetable knife - I wonder if the ones there were with the kitchen utensils rather than in the cutlery drawer. There is no need to use the small flight of steps at the rear of the cottage though there is a handrail, but there is a small garden to the front of the property which can be seen in the photograph on the website.

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 01/05/2017
    A lovely clean comfortable cottage .Would definately stay there again in lovely area and within easy reach of lovely places to visit and walks. Highly recommend the cottage .

View All Guest Reviews

8.4 out of 10 – based on 18 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.