By Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Shortlist

The Barn

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Bideford
Grade 4 Star rating
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £37.00 booking fee.

 

Duration

Loading
Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Done
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
Sleeps4
Bedrooms2
Bathrooms1
Pets 1

Why Us?


This Cottage is brought to you by:

Welcome Cottages

Lakeside, seaside, countryside, hillside...wherever you can picture your perfect cottage, you'll find it with Welcome Cottages!


Description

Offering total peace and seclusion, this cottage has some amazing views of the surrounding countryside.

Rural countryside / Working farmRural countryside / Working farm

These three barn conversions are set on a delightful working farm in a wonderful position overlooking the River Torridge, the Iron Bridge, and further down river towards Bideford. The barn conversions offer comfortable accommodation for various size parties and are suitable for a holiday at any time of year. The farm nestles at the end of a long private driveway and offers total peace and seclusion in the Devon countryside; there are 200 acres of farmland with garden furniture and barbecue, as well as some lovely woodland walks around the farm itself, and the nearby Tarka Trail close to the farm. Just 2 miles from the historic market town of Bideford with its wealth of popular pubs, shops and restaurants, and a little further afield is Barnstaple with a wide variety of facilities. Just a short drive takes you to Westward Ho! with its 2 miles of golden sandy beach. Other attractions include Dartington Crystal and RHS Rosemoor Gardens. Horse riding, golf and fishing can all be found within 5 miles. Shops, pubs and restaurants 2 miles.

All on ground floor: Living room with French doors and beams/dining room/kitchen. 2 bedrooms: 1 double, 1 twin. Bathroom with shower over bath and toilet.

Freeview TV. Wi-fi. Enclosed patio, courtyard and furniture. Parking (2 cars).

All properties: Underfloor central heating, electricity, bed linen and towels included. Cot. High chair. DVD. iPod dock. Electric cooker. Microwave. Washing machine. Dishwasher. Freezer. Portable barbecue. No smoking.

Read more 

Features

  • BarbecueBarbecue
  • DishwasherDishwasher
  • Ground Floor FacilitiesGround Floor Facilities
  • Ideal for GolfIdeal for Golf
  • HighchairHighchair
  • Free PetsFree Pets
  • Horse Riding NearbyHorse Riding Nearby
  • Rural LocationRural Location
  • Christmas Themed CottageChristmas Themed Cottage
  • WifiWifi
  • Baby and Toddler FriendlyBaby and Toddler Friendly
  • Cot AvailableCot Available
  • Washing MachineWashing Machine
  • Working FarmWorking Farm
  • FishingFishing
  • Coastal PropertyCoastal Property
  • Open PlanOpen Plan
  • Car Parking - On SiteCar Parking - On Site

Customer Comments

  • 5

    Confirmed guest, 05/11/2016
    The property was not clean - dirty kitchen sink with bits of food in the drain - bathroom washbasin not cleaned from previous guests. Kitchen hob and fridge not clean - top of cooker hood greasy and dusty. Throughout The Barn surfaces were neither dusted or wiped - mirrors were dirty - inside kitchen cupboards not clean No attempt was made by the owners to meet us during our stay - no meet and greet just the key in the door and an information book that we had to search for Many lightbulbs were not working - vertical blinds were broken - double glazed units misted up The property needs a refresh throughout Rear views from The Barn look directly into 2 barns that are filled with discarded farm equipment and the front views look across to a brick wall The wifi connection is very poor.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in The Barn, we cannot understand how the property was so dirty as I had cleaned it myself, everything would have been checked and there would have been a cream tea in the fridge and a welcome book on the dining table, we were right next door if you needed us, which you did when you lost the key to the front door and needed to get another key, I don't know why you didn't raise your concerns then when we could have done something about it, or when you got in touch with me because you had put a rug outside because your dog had got it dirty and you left it out in the rain. I do apologise for the three light bulbs that had gone, they are three of ten in a vaulted ceiling that I can't get to and my husband is in a wheelchair at the moment awaiting back surgery. We are a working farm and advertise as a working farm, the barns out the back house farm equipment, tractors, toppers, trailers and things we need as a working farm. We are aware that one pain of double glazing has misted over and we are having new windows put in throughout the property over the winter, this is not something that can be sorted overnight. As for they Wi-Fi, I'm afraid that is in the hands of BT, we do not and cannot guarantee the internet signal and this is explained when you book, some people have problems, some have no trouble at all. We do wish that you had said something when you arrived when we could have done something about it, we have other properties you could have moved to or you could have pointed out the problems to me and I would have rectified them immediately, we want people to enjoy their holiday and we do say all of this in the welcome book. We don't like to be in people's faces, not everyone wants to be bothered on holiday so we take our lead from the visitors, if they are friendly and talkative we respond the same way, if people are distant and avoid us we don’t not push ourselves on them. I apologise again for your poor experience with us.

  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 29/10/2016
    With an 18 month old this was a great place to stay. There are no shops or pubs in walking distance which didn't affect us but would a couple wanting to stroll out in the evening. Great value for money and would happily stay there again


  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 20/08/2016
    Accurate description of accommodation (including unreliability of Wi-Fi) and location. Very peaceful with stunning views from the farm. Great base to explore area. Kids loved the animals, especially the very friendly chicken! Cream tea on arrival was a nice gesture. Property could have been a bit cleaner though, but wouldn't stop us from going back. Very enjoyable holiday.


  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 18/06/2016
    Super place, nice owners, I would go again.


  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 02/04/2016
    Generally the property catered for our needs and we liked the working farm environment. If there was a downside, then it would be that the double bed would need a new matress as the existing one gave us both back acres.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry that you were uncomfortable, we have now replaced the mattress.

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 19/03/2016
    This was the perfect place to stay. the owners are friendly and the location is great. You have a single track road to drive down, but, it is well worth it, as the tranquility was bliss. Lovely walking area for our dog, and my partner even feed the orphaned lambs. Would highly recommend this place. Very Dog friendly :-)


View All Guest Reviews
×

8.2 out of 10 – based on 11 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Alternative properties at this location

Sleeps 6 Property Ref: W41746 View Accommodation
Sleeps 2 Property Ref: W41747 View Accommodation
Sleeps 6 Property Ref: W41240 View Accommodation

Local Area

Content to be added.

Looking for something with a little more?

Cotages with Hot tubs Cottages part of our Luxury collection Something with a swimming pool A place near the Coast