By Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Letting your Property | My Booking | Help | Shortlist
Back to Search

St Helen’s Cottages - The Old Coach House

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Northam, nr. Bideford
Grade 4 Star rating
Pets 1
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £37.00 booking fee.



Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900

Why Us?

This Cottage is brought to you by:


In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


Sitting in its own grounds, this propery boasts easy access to some of North Devon’s stunning beaches.

Perfect for exploring all North Devon has to offer

St Helen’s (ref 27311) is a spacious, semi-detached wing of the owners’ impressive, former Victorian gentleman’s residence, with its own private entrance and The Old Coach House (ref 28628) sits detached within its grounds and features a Wii games console available with a selection of games. Situated on the edge of the pretty port town of Bideford with its pastel coloured houses alongside a tree lined quay, they are conveniently placed just 2 miles from North Devon’s stunning beaches, yet just a short walk from the quayside with its vast array of restaurants, cafes and shops. Take a boat trip to the nature reserve at Lundy Island or explore many pretty fishing villages including nearby Clovelly, Instow and Appledore. The wide, golden sandy beach of Westward Ho! popular with surfers, is just 2 miles. For walking and cycling, the famous Tarka Trail passes through Bideford, and the coastal path is 550 yards away. Golf, riding and fishing are available locally, and for family fun, The Big Sheep and The Milky Way Adventure Parks are close by, as is the Atlantic Village shopping outlet and children’s adventure area. Indoor swimming pool ½ mile away. Shop, pub and restaurant ½ mile.

Ground floor: Living/dining room/kitchen with wooden floor. First floor: 2 double bedrooms (one 5ft zip and link, can be twin), both with beams. Shower room with toilet.

Electric woodburner in living room included. Electric central heating and electricity included (£20per week October-March). Freeview TV. Wii and small library. Enclosed, gravelled courtyard with sitting-out area and furniture. Parking (2 cars).

Both properties: Bed linen and towels included. Travel cot and high chair on request. DVD and small library. iPod dock. Electric cooker. Microwave. Washing machine. Dishwasher. Fridge/freezer. Wi-fi. Barbecue. Welcome pack. No smoking.

Read more 


  • BarbecueBarbecue
  • Detached PropertyDetached Property
  • DishwasherDishwasher
  • Enclosed Garden / PatioEnclosed Garden / Patio
  • Garden / PatioGarden / Patio
  • Ideal for GolfIdeal for Golf
  • HighchairHighchair
  • Pub within 1 milePub within 1 mile
  • Free PetsFree Pets
  • Horse Riding NearbyHorse Riding Nearby
  • WifiWifi
  • Cot AvailableCot Available
  • Car Parking AvailableCar Parking Available
  • Washing MachineWashing Machine
  • Coastal PropertyCoastal Property
  • Open PlanOpen Plan

Customer Comments

  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 10/07/2015
    This cottage is much smaller than we expected,the second bedroom has no hanging space except a tiny rail,the room is really only big enough for children. The shower room and only toilet is so small and smelt of damp as if the water is under the Lino ,not sure if someone on the bigger side would even fit in corner where the toilet is ,the seat moves every time anyone sits on it. The main sitting,dining/ kitchen area was also quite small,it does not help with a really large coffee table in middle of room ,the sitting out area is ok but the gravel was no good for dog paws,as we have a small dog. The up side of all this ,the location was great .

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your feedback, we value guest’s responses. We are disheartened to hear of the issues that you had at the property, this is not in line with previous feedback we have received. The cottage is as stated on the website and there are a number of photographs to help paint the picture. With regards to the bedroom, the storage space is adequate for a cottage holiday; we provide a chest of drawers and hanging space. The Old Coach House is a barn conversion and was converted only 2 years ago and we have not received previous complaints on dampness. We do live on site and if you had contacted us, we would have happily tightened the toilet seat for you, we also could have removed the coffee table if this was not to your liking. The gravel is visible in photograph, I apologise that your dog had difficulties with this. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the Location and will take your comments on board.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 18/09/2015
    The property is an ideal base to explore Devon. The owners are extremely helpful and very friendly. They are always available without being invasive. The cottage is dog friendly as are many of the local pubs, (I can recommend the Seagate and Beaver Inn in Appledoor). Instow beach is totally dog friendly, Saunton Sands is too apart from the first 200 metres where dogs must be kept on leads, the rest of the 3.5 miles is unrestricted (there is a £6.00 parking charge but the beach and facilities are worth it). Westwood-Ho is dog friendly on the second half which means a long walk or a £1.50 toll charge on the access road.

  • 6

    Confirmed guest, 04/09/2015
    We found the property very noisy no view. Not suitable for our needs unfortunately so we left early. Dog couldn't settle due to flooring and noise. Handy for visiting lots of places, and welcome pack appreciated.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your comments. We’re sorry to hear your dog found the floor noisy and slippery as you can see from the photographs, it is high quality laminate flooring. Laminate flooring was laid down for hygiene reasons. We do not actually advertise the property with a view nor do we present images that show a view from the property. We are disappointed with the low score you have given as can be seen from other reviews; many guests have really enjoyed their stays with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the location and welcome pack we included.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 26/06/2015
    This was our first holiday in Devon, and we found that the location was ideal for exploring the county's north coast. The property itself was clean and comfortable with all the facilities that we required for our stay and is situated in a quiet cul de sac but close enough to all the facilities of the town centre of Bideford. There is a large, off street area, for parking right outside the door of the property.

View All Guest Reviews

8.2 out of 10 – based on 9 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Alternative properties at this location

Sleeps 7 Property Ref: 27311 View Accommodation

Local Area

Content to be added.

Looking for something with a little more?

Cotages with Hot tubs Cottages part of our Luxury collection Something with a swimming pool A place near the Coast