By Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Letting your Property | My Booking | Help | Shortlist
Refine search
Back to Search

Watermouth Castle - South Court Apartment

Nr Ilfracombe Grade 4 Star rating View Map
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £37.00 booking fee.



Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date

Why Us?

This Cottage is brought to you by:

English Country Cottages

From a touch of luxury to characterful heritage, experience one of our truly inspiring holiday properties.


Situated within a castle, this apartment has access to a swimming pool, a museum, theme attractions, and fascinating water displays.

"Views over bays and cliffs from a castle stronghold – a unique holiday opportunity . . ."

Watermouth Castle offers a rare combination of opportunities – for not only do visitors have the chance to live in a castle, but they also enjoy unlimited, free entry to one of the West Country’s premier tourist attractions during their stay (please note that the park, castle and facilities are closed in winter as from November 2016). Within the splendid castle itself, there are six superb apartments, an indoor heated swimming pool, a museum, a choice of theme attractions, and some fascinating water displays. There is free wi-fi in the on site cafè and swimming pool area. Outside, the castle’s 50-acre estate features wonderful landscaped gardens, with plenty of space for strolling and relaxing, and glorious woodland walks. There are ducks and waterfowl to admire on the lake outside the walls, and beautiful views from the castle over Watermouth Bay and its harbour, where there are slipway facilities for visitors’ boats, as well as moorings for larger craft (by arrangement with the harbourmaster).
The castle is a true example of a Victorian folly, completed in the mid 19th-century by the Bassett family. Now extensively restored by the current owner, its self-contained holiday apartments are reached through an archway in the south court, where the indoor heated swimming pool is available exclusively to apartment residents. All of the properties have been decorated and furnished to a comfortable standard throughout, in keeping with the style and ambience of the Castle, and all feature four-poster, half tester or brass beds.
A separate part of the castle, open to the public, contains the fascinating museum collections, including a Victorian kitchen, animated displays, mechanical musical instruments, a large model railway and a unique arcade of pier slot machines, all in working order. In the underground theatre is the Water Spectacular, reputedly one of the best fountain shows in the world, a thrilling mix of lights, music and water. Outside in the grounds are further family entertainments, including traditional rides and slides, fascinating water features, children’s play areas, a ‘Gnomeland’, themed crazy-golf, and much, much more all of which earned Watermouth Castle a place in the finals of the South West Tourism ‘Large Visitor Attraction Of The Year’ Award in 2005.
Watermouth Castle enjoys an incomparable setting on rising ground, commanding views over the bays and cliffs of the magnificent coastline stretching away to the east. Take a woodland walk through the estate to the picturesque, award-winning village of Berrynarbor, or visit the coastal village of Combe Martin (less than 3 miles to the east) – famous not only for its sandy coves, inlets and majestic headlands but also as ‘the gateway to the Exmoor National Park’. Combe Martin offers a choice of shops and cafes, and one of Devon’s oldest inns! Ilfracombe is only a five minute drive away to the west, with a range of seaside attractions, good shops and a golf course, and visitors can enjoy miles of golden sand at nearby Woolacombe and Croyde Bay. Superb cliff-top scenery and beautiful wooded valleys make this one of North Devon’s most scenic areas – as well as a paradise for walkers. Shops 2 miles.
Note: Music may filter into the pool area from the antique Mortier organ between 10am and 6pm.

(Ground floor.) Facing the south court. Open-plan living room with fitted kitchen and dining area. Three bedrooms; one double with en-suite bathroom and two singles, each with single four-poster bed. Bathroom with over-bath shower and toilet.

  • Z-bed (suitable for +1 child only)
  • Ground floor facilities

  • Electricity, gas, heaters in all rooms and bed linen included
  • Towels £3 per person per week by arrangement
  • Cot and high chair by arrangement
  • TV
  • DVD
  • Microwave
  • Shared laundry room (coin-operated) with washing machine and tumble dryer
  • Wi-fi in onsite cafe
  • Shared payphone
  • Shared patio and garden furniture
  • Shared barbecue
  • Parking
  • Indoor heated swimming pool with Fitstar counter facility
  • Office facilities included fax/modem/photocopier by arrangement
  • No smoking
  • NB: Lake in grounds

Indoor heated swimming pool and sun lounge. Unlimited free entry to award-winning ’Watermouth Castle Family Attraction’ offering a wealth of experiences and entertainment for all ages. (open Easter– end Oct)

Read more 


  • Four Poster BedFour Poster Bed
  • Cot AvailableCot Available
  • Ground Floor FacilitiesGround Floor Facilities
  • HighchairHighchair
  • WifiWifi
  • Swimming PoolSwimming Pool
  • Car Parking AvailableCar Parking Available
  • Washing MachineWashing Machine
  • Coastal PropertyCoastal Property
  • Heritage CollectionHeritage Collection

Customer Comments

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 2015-10-31
    With all the facilities available there was something for everyone to enjoy. The apartment itself was comfortable and homely and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • 4

    Confirmed guest, 2015-09-26
    The weather did not help but the rooms were draughty and cold.

    Response from: administrator

    Response on behalf of the owner; We are rather surprised and disappointed to receive the score of 4/10. When the guests were shown around the apartment on entrance, they were shown additional heaters already located in South Court. If required, additional heaters could have been easily provided. In reference to the score for value for money, there were 2 people in an apartment which sleeps 4 (5 if you have children). Obviously, had the party size been greater, the cost per head would have been lower, and perhaps the guest would have perceived a greater value? It is also quite a large apartment for just 2 people, which could have contributed to the cold feeling. All our apartments are thoroughly cleaned and laundered regularly, and often I have had guests compliment the high standards of cleanliness. The Owners of the business live on site, and could have been easily contacted night or day to rectify a heating problem. The office is manned (during office hours), and they have radio contact for the Owners and maintenance team. We are sorry that you did not voice your concerns at the time of your stay as this would have allowed us the opportunity to address the issue you have raised immediately. Going forward, wifi will be installed in all 6 apartments during the winter (2015) and we trust that our visitors will find this addition beneficial. As I say, we are disappointed, and of course we offer our most sincere apologies that this guest found the apartment to be draughty and cold.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 2015-09-05
    We had a fantastic time at South Court, the apartment was wonderful, the swimming pool was a great hit with my daughter! Having access to the theme park was wonderful and we took advantage of playing the crazy golf when the park was shut which was brilliant. The location was great and we would definitely return again!!

View All Guest Reviews

8.3 out of 10 – based on 7 reviews collected by Reevoo

You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Alternative properties at this location

Sleeps 4 Property Ref: FHH View Accommodation
Sleeps 4 Property Ref: FHJ View Accommodation
Sleeps 6 Property Ref: FHK View Accommodation
Sleeps 4 Property Ref: FHL View Accommodation
Sleeps 6 Property Ref: FHM View Accommodation

Local Area

Content to be added.

You are now on our new website!

We've made changes to help you browse accommodation on your phone, tablet or desktop. Please let us know what you think by answering a few questions on our short survey below.

Give your feedback Continue

Take me back to the old site