By Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Letting your Property | My Booking | Help | Shortlist
Refine search
Back to Search

Ship Bungalow and Mews - Ship Bungalow

Porlock, nr. Minehead Grade 4 Star rating View Map
Pets 2
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £37.00 booking fee.



Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date

Why Us?

This Cottage is brought to you by:


In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


Visit the medieval Dunster Castle, with its beautiful terraced gardens, Deer Park and Mill making for an interesting day out.

In the village of Porlock on Exmoor National Park and nestling between Porlock Hill and the sea, 1 mile, these converted ships mews, formerly stables, and detached dormer bungalow offer sea views of Porlock Bay and make an excellent holiday location to enjoy the natural wonders of Exmoor and the dramatic coastline in this region. There is superb scenery and walking on the South West Coastal Path or inland on the moors, and many places to visit to make a memorable holiday. The Victorian villages of Lynmouth and Lynton, famous for the Watermeet Gorge (NT), valley of the rocks and the funicular cliff railway are well worth a visit, or looking towards Minehead, you can go back in time on the scenic West Somerset Steam Railway, or visit the enchanting medieval Dunster Castle (NT), with its beautiful terraced gardens, Deer Park and Mill making for an interesting day out. Nearer home you can wine and dine in the owner’s adjacent public house and restaurant, the 13th-century Ship Inn, or enjoy the fine selection of unusual shops in this pretty traditional village. There is also fishing, golf, horse riding and cycling all available, or further afield the resorts of Ilfracombe, Combe Martin and Woolacombe are well worth a visit. Shops 200 yards, pub/restaurant 100 yards.

Ground floor: Dining room with French doors/kitchen, both with tiled floor. 6 steps to 3 bedrooms: 1 double with en-suite bathroom with shower attachment and toilet, 1 twin, 1 single with additional pull-out single. Bathroom with toilet. First floor: Living room with wooden floor.

Oil central heating, electricity, bed linen and towels included. Freeview TV. DVD. Electric cooker. Combi microwave/oven/grill. Washer/dryer. Dishwasher. Fridge/freezer. Enclosed lawned garden with patio, sitting-out area and furniture. Parking (2 cars).

Read more 


  • Detached PropertyDetached Property
  • DishwasherDishwasher
  • Enclosed Garden / PatioEnclosed Garden / Patio
  • Garden / PatioGarden / Patio
  • Pub within 1 milePub within 1 mile
  • Sea ViewSea View
  • Satellite TVSatellite TV
  • Car Parking AvailableCar Parking Available
  • Washing MachineWashing Machine
  • Coastal PropertyCoastal Property

Customer Comments

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 2015-10-10
    Perfect setting, beautiful area of the country ideal for walking, hunting and visiting the local pubs. Will certainly be visiting again in the near future. My only suggestion for the bungalow is that a proper shower would be useful.

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 2015-09-26
    The Ship Bungalow was very clean and comfortable I was disappointed that we collect the keys from an outside wall safe and do not receive any form of welcome it would have been nice to be shown round Also it would benefit from a shower The bungalow was in a nice position and we had a very enjoyable week

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 2015-08-15
    We had a lovely holiday. The accommodation was very spacious. It would have been good to have somewhere to hang wet bathroom towels, either hooks on the bathroom or bedroom doors.

  • 6

    Confirmed guest, 2015-02-21
    Unfortunately the Bungalow looked tired. It could do with a thorough clean, carpets especially, the paintwork was very grubby in many areas, there is no shower. The washing machine didn't work, no extra's, like hand soap at all sinks, only leftovers from other guests. Dangling wires in rooms, hopefully not live. The garden was very overgrown and unkempt, the garden did not invite us to sit out despite the 5 lovely sunny February days we did have, dogs able to get out through unkept boundaries at rear! On a positive the owner was very very helpful and accommodating, the location is fabulous for amenities and access. Such a shame as it could be a fantastic place to stay and if all the problems were sorted we would return, sorry but disappointed :-(

    Response from: Administrator

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for taking the time to comment and for the positive comments you have made. However, a couple of points that we feel should be made: we do not advertise a shower (the en-suite has a shower attachment). Following your comment in regards to the washing machine, we went to the property to check this and can confirm that the washing machine is in perfectly good working order. No problems have since been reported about the washing machine not working. The professional cleaning company we use are generally very good - all who stay are always invited by myself to report anything immediately therefore allowing the opportunity to put any issues right. We do leave soap in the bathrooms, some basic cleaning materials and tea, coffee and biscuits to have on arrival- as I tell all our guests. We are not sure about the comment regarding the wires as we have been unable to locate the dangling wires you have mentioned. The bungalow is very popular throughout the year and so invariably maintenance items do crop up from time to time. The property is well maintained, but we cannot redecorate every time a guest marks the walls, sometimes cleaning off hand prints does leave a mark. The bungalow is annually graded by our Regional manager who has consistently awarded the property four stars. The garden does not look its best in February; particularly the garden containing the fruit trees however, we do try our best to keep the garden as neat and tidy as can possibly be during the winter months. The rear of the property is not available to guests and we do expect guests to be mindful of that and supervise their pets or indeed children. It is an area clearly marked out.

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 2015-01-02
    Excellent amount of space, large kitchen and dining area and then a lovely comfortable living space upstairs with wonderful views down to the sea. Porlock was a beautiful place with lots of great walks and a lovely atmosphere. Make sure you bring toilet roll, dishwashers tablets etc because these were not provided.

View All Guest Reviews

7.5 out of 10 – based on 6 reviews collected by Reevoo

You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Alternative properties at this location

Sleeps 2 Property Ref: 19395 View Accommodation
Sleeps 2 Property Ref: 19398 View Accommodation
Sleeps 2 Property Ref: 19397 View Accommodation

Local Area

Content to be added.

You are now on our new website!

We've made changes to help you browse accommodation on your phone, tablet or desktop. Please let us know what you think by answering a few questions on our short survey below.

Give your feedback Continue

Take me back to the old site