Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 30+ years of experience 98% would book again Over 20,000 quality assured cottages 98% would book again 30+ years of experience
My Booking Help & Support
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Booking'. Close and don't show this message again. x
Shortlist
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.

Ruby Gem

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Winterton-on-Sea, near Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Grade 4 Star rating
Sleeps4
Bedrooms2
Bathrooms1
Pets 1
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

 

Duration

Loading
Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Done
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • 1.7 million happy customers a year
  • 98% of guests would book again
  • 30 years of experience
  • Independent reviews
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers

This property is part of our Welcome Cottages collection

Welcome Cottages

A carefully curated collection of properties that offer high quality, good value accommodation in great locations across the UK, Ireland, France and Italy


Description

This beautiful cottage couldn’t be in a better location, with the beach, shops and restaurants just 50 yards away, and a short drive from Great Yarmouth.


In the ever popular Winterton-on-Sea, you will find Ruby Gem, a beautifully renovated, semi-detached cottage close to the stunning sand dunes. The contemporary, bright interior has comfortable seating and a roaring open fire for those cooler evenings, making it the perfect property all year round. The layout is convenient with an open plan living area, and the added bonus of an enclosed garden for your four-legged friends.

Situated on the North Norfolk Coast, Winterton-on-Sea is a popular spot for walkers and those seeking a truly unique coastal break. The colony of terns are a spectacular sight, as are the colony of seals further north. The village has all you need, including a shop, pub and a quintessential fish and chip shop. The surrounding area has lots to see and do, including Great Yarmouth for its pier, shops and attractions. The Broads National Park is on your doorstep, where you can hire a day boat, take in the unique scenery and watch the many hired boats navigate their way through this superb landscape. The fine city of Norwich is a short drive away, with its historical castle and an abundance of shops and restaurants. Beach 50 yards. Shop, pub and restaurant 50 yards.

Ground Floor:
Living/dining room: With open fire, 42" Sky TV, DVD player and wooden floor.
Kitchen: With electric oven, electric hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and wooden floor.
Bathroom: With bath, shower cubicle, toilet and heated towel rail.
Open-sided stairs to...
First Floor:
Bedroom 1: With super kingsize bed.
Bedroom 2: With twin beds.

Oil central heating, electricity, bed linen and towels included. Initial fuel for open fire included. Welcome pack. Enclosed lawned garden with garden furniture. Private parking for 2 cars. No smoking.

Show amenities 

Features

  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Enclosed Garden / Patio
    Enclosed Garden / Patio
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Golf nearby
    Golf nearby
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Open Fire
    Open Fire
  • Pets – no charge
    Pets – no charge
  • Romantic Getaways
    Romantic Getaways
  • Decorated at Christmas
    Decorated at Christmas
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Coastal within 1 mile
    Coastal within 1 mile
  • Coastal within 3 miles
    Coastal within 3 miles
  • Coastal within 5 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site

Customer Comments

  • 8

    04/04/2018
    Confirmed guest, 29/03/2018
    We had a great visit and we will be back. Daisy our dog is still sulking as she loved being on the beach every day. I think you need a dog to be allowed in the pub as there seem to be more dogs. Didn't like there was not enough hot water for a bath that's all. Did not sleep well and the bathroom is downstairs which I did not like that's my moans if I had to.


  • 9

    18/02/2018
    Confirmed guest, 15/02/2018
    Well equipped kitchen Clean and homely Good helpful communication with owner.


  • 10

    05/03/2018
    Confirmed guest, 27/01/2018
    We had a wonderful week away! Weather you want stay local and enjoy the local pub grub ( Fishermans return ), or take in the scenic beach views and see the seals, Ruby Gem is a fantastically placed cottage in the lovely village of Winterton and both have everything you need for a super relaxing holiday.


  • 10

    31/01/2018
    Confirmed guest, 20/01/2018
    The perfect cottage in the perfect location. The beach, shops and pub are all close by. The cottage and village are dog friendly and welcoming. With a log fire to snuggle up in front of in an evening, you really couldn't ask for more.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your kind comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Ruby Gem Cottage. Hope to see you there again.

  • 8

    18/12/2017
    Confirmed guest, 03/12/2017
    Rubygem was a lovely cottage. It was very comfortable and clean. Great location. Very central for everything. We were lucky to see seals on the beach. Chippy nearby and pub offering great food. Welcome pack on arrival. We hadn't realised there was no upstairs loo so that might be the only reason we may not book again and the fumes from the oil fired central heating. The location was so amazing that we would probably still return.


  • 6

    25/11/2017
    Confirmed guest, 28/10/2017
    Disappointing, kitchen poorly equipped (no oven proof dishes or potato peeler), one of the single beds had springs almost through mattress as a previous visitor commented and we had to keep kitchen window open to remove oil smell from heating system. Such a shame no WiFi or O2 reception, made planning trips hard.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your comments. The single mattress has since been replaced and we will place a vegetable peeler in the cutlery draw when we are next at the property. Have also had the boiler serviced as we do annually, so this should cure the issue with oily smell. There is an oven proof dish in the double cupboard next to the oven, maybe it had been pushed to the back of the cupboard, as you couldn’t find it. We do not advertise Wi-Fi at the cottage as when we tried to get it installed, we encountered lots of issues with the installation so in the end gave up, and as for the phone signal, we are sorry, but this is out of our hands. We hope that these issues didn’t spoil your stay too much.

  • 10

    20/09/2017
    Confirmed guest, 11/09/2017
    We come to Winterton each year but this is the first time we've stayed in Ruby Gem and we would definitely return there. It was extremely homely and comfortable.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner:- Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Ruby Gem Cottage, and look forward to welcoming you back again .

  • 10

    12/09/2017
    Confirmed guest, 02/09/2017
    Great cottage, brilliant location, only one small thing that we found a problem with was one of the single mattresses could do with replacing because it was quite lumpy.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner: We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Rubygem. Thank you for the the feedback on the mattress. We will investigate and renew if needed a.s.a.p.

  • 6

    20/07/2017
    Confirmed guest, 14/07/2017
    Comfortable , needs wi fi , very limited phone signal

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner. We are glad that you found Rubygem cottage comfortable and we hope you enjoyed your stay. We have tried to have broadband connected at the property, but ran into numerous difficulties due to the weak signal in the area, so this is why we do not advertise, wi-fi. The mobile reception in the cottage area, unfortunately is out of our hands.

  • 1

    09/07/2017
    Confirmed guest, 01/07/2017
    The worst cottage holiday ever. Very poorly equipped and tired. No privacy. We reported to the letting agent and we left after 4 nights. The owner didn't acknowledge our issues but photos dont lie. Be warned !!

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner: We pride ourselves on providing a clean and welcoming holiday cottage by the sea, which is tastefully decorated and equipped with modern equipment for our guests. The cottage in its entirety was fully renovated in 2016 to bring it up to the four star rating that we proudly hold . Rubygem is situated in a quiet street where there is minimal traffic, however, people do use this street to walk down for getting to the beach. Inevitably they glance towards our cottage as they walk past, and because of this we installed blinds to all the front windows of the property to minimize the view from the road into our property , for our guests comfort. The rear garden does back onto the car parking area of the fisherman's return public house, so at certain times of the day deliveries etc can be heard , but we have tried to create as much privacy as we can for our guests, with a 10ft hedge to one side, while the remaining boundaries are of 6 ft high fencing. Photos we received have been acted upon and rectified where possible, but being a cottage we have tried our up most to keep some character in the property during the renovations by using locally sourced oak and pine timber, to compliment the age of the surroundings. We strive to provide our guests with a nice environment, that is well equipped, as we understand the commitment they have made to spend there quality holiday time at Rubygem and we thank all guests that leave feedback, good or bad, as this helps us to make decisions on ways that we might be able to improve our property for you, and we are proud to have received such high scores on our Revoo page.

View All Guest Reviews
×

8.4 out of 10 – based on 20 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Book with confidence. We are a member of ABTA. Read full details of our ABTA membership and where financial protection might apply to your booking.