by Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Shortlist
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

Nab End Farm Cottages - Rosedale

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Glaisdale Dale, near Whitby, Yorkshire
Grade 3 Star rating
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

 

Duration

Loading
Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Done
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×
Sleeps4
Bedrooms2
Bathrooms1
Pets 2

Why Us?

  • No credit card fees*
  • Secure booking
  • Book 2015 for £25 Low deposit
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers
  • Over 30 years experience
  • 98% of guests would book again

This property is part of our Welcome Cottages collection

Welcome Cottages

A carefully curated collection of properties that offer high quality, good value accommodation in great locations across the UK, Ireland, France and Italy


Description

An ideal base for exploring the highlights of the North Yorkshire’s moors and heritage coast.

Nab End Farm is located 2½ miles from Glaisdale village, in the heart of the Esk Valley within the stunning North York Moors National Park. Home to five beautifully situated and well-equipped holiday cottages, there is a choice of accommodation suitable for groups, families or couples. Silver Birches (ref: W43151), Rosedale (ref: W43154) and Farndale (ref: W43155) all sleep four (in one double and one twin), whilst Eskdale (ref: W43153) and Glaisdale (ref: W43152) each sleep two (in one twin). The helpful owners live on-site and will do their best to make sure you have all you need for a happy break.
On the doorstep of the farm are an abundance of walking and cycling routes, perfect for exploring the moors and coast. There really is something for everyone, whatever your preference and ability. An abundance of information on where to go and what to do is available in each cottage. The whole extent of the carefully tended 5 acres of grounds is available for you to wander and relax in, and exercise dogs. Plenty of garden furniture is available to use in any part of the grounds.
Glaisdale village boasts a well-stocked shop/Post Office, an excellent butcher’s shop (famous for its pies) and a cosy village pub open all year round. The location is ideal for exploring the glorious moors and spectacular coast, including historic Whitby, 12 miles, Robin Hoods Bay, 17 miles, the North Yorkshire Moors Railway from Grosmont, 7.5 miles, to Pickering, and numerous National Trust and English Heritage properties. On the doorstep of the farm are an abundance of walking and cycling routes; there really is something for everyone, whatever your preference and ability. Shop/PO 2½ miles, pub serving food 3 miles.

Step to entrance. Ground floor: Living/dining room/kitchen. 1 twin bedroom. Shower room with toilet. First floor: Galleried double bedroom with 40" Freesat Smart TV.

Electric coal-effect fire in living room included. Gas central heating included. Parking (2 cars).

All properties: Electricity, bed linen and towels included. Freesat TV. DVD. Electric cooker. Microwave. Travel cot and high chair available on request. Shared laundry/utility room with washing machine, tumble dryer and freezer. Wi-Fi. Shared landscaped garden and grounds of 5 acres with furniture. Shared gas barbecue. Cycle store. Natural water supply from spring. NB: Pond in grounds, 75 yards.

Read more 

Features

  • Barbecue
    Barbecue
  • Bike Store
    Bike Store
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Pets – no charge
    Pets – no charge
  • Rural Location
    Rural Location
  • Wifi
    Wifi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Open Plan
    Open Plan
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site

Customer Comments

  • 8

    24/06/2017
    Confirmed guest, 23/06/2017
    Lovely little cottage in a beautiful rural setting.


  • 7

    18/05/2017
    Confirmed guest, 04/05/2017
    Lovely location & ideal accommodation for a few nights away with your dog. Would definitely recommend. Was a lovely tranquil place


  • 10

    18/03/2017
    Confirmed guest, 13/03/2017
    Lovely location, very friendly and approachable owners who didn't mind us roaming around their gardens and land. Very quiet accommodation even though we had neighborous either side. Kitchen very well equipt. Plenty of in house entertainment like board games, jigsaws etc. Very comfy bed, duvet, and cushions - like new! Bathroom small but perfectly adequate. We walked to the pub 2 miles away and it was very easy going - mostly flat. Takes just over an hour to get to. Local amenities have everything you need and the locals are friendly. Lots of nature - barn owl behind the cottage; spotted tawny owl, and slow worm. Lots of scenic walks (we went off the beaten track) Overall - excellent!


  • 9

    23/02/2017
    Confirmed guest, 13/02/2017
    Lovely cottage in a picturesque location. Helpful owner. Comfy beds, have had to buy a new mattress for our own bed after experiencing the beds in Rosedale cottage! A lovely relaxing short break. We're currently working out when we can return, hopefully for longer next time to see more of the area


  • 10

    19/02/2017
    Confirmed guest, 08/02/2017
    We actually stayed in Ferndale as Rosedale was being refurbished. The views from the upstairs bedroom were stunning. The dog loved the garden and I loved the windmill. The owners were very welcoming and was always on hand. We had a wonderful time really relaxing and chilled out break.


  • 8

    07/01/2017
    Confirmed guest, 02/01/2017
    Lovely place, great stay and Mrs Liddle is brilliant. The mark of 4 for local amenities is just because it's quite a trek to a shop. However we were fine with that and the remoteness was actually a plus point, since we're quite capable of going prepared. The amount of furniture in the main room made it tricky sometimes since there were 4 of us and 2 dogs.


  • 1

    23/12/2016
    Confirmed guest, 21/11/2016
    If Faulty Towers did cottages! Now where to start…. Something positive…. I love Yorkshire and the Whitby area. So we let ourselves in to the cottage, which was a struggle in itself. We stayed in the Rosedale cottage, which has an outer door that doesn’t open and close properly. It needed too hands and a right big push with your entire body to move. Very tricky on the way out when it’s a pull and you have a dog in tow. Dog friendly is not the same a dog tolerant! Nothing for a dog, not even a space suitable to put a dog bed, but I’ll get on to that shortly. We arrived bang on time yet there was nobody around to greet us. Our stay was in mid-November and there was beautiful snow on the hills. Didn’t seem to occur to anyone to put the heating on? The cottage was freezing and didn’t really improve until we had been there a few days and had every bit of electrical heater on in the place. After 15 mins or so we had a visitor, a hello from the owner, and in hind sight just seems a pre-emptive excuse for the state of the place. But that’s okay, they have Wi-Fi! I really could write an assay on the faults with this place, but if you want the short version Dirty, unsafe, cold, crowded, uncomfortable, out dated and awkward to get to. The bathroom has no stink! Dirty: The place had thick muck and dust over everything on the walls, and the wall/ceiling upstairs had mould, holes, oh and the cobwebs! Unsafe: Arching heater, kitchen layout horrendous (to make toast we had to balance the toaster on two feet on a cooker ring to reach the power point). The kettle and microwave within inches of the sink and constantly getting wet. Nails sticking out of the wall, at head height and sharp hooks with nothing on them. Crowded & Uncomfortable: Tiny main room with masses of furniture. There were only two of us and a dog and we struggled to sit down and see the TV. Four chairs round the table, but only room for two to sit, and then you can’t get to the kitchen area. We had to step over the dog and his bed to make a cuppa or go to the loo. The bathroom was that tiny! Me at just over 5 foot tall struggled to get in the shower. You can just image how my partner at 6’ 4” coped. And if you missed it…. THERE IS NO SINK! To go from the main bedroom to the bathroom, you had to go down stairs, trip over the furniture (and dog) out into the cold passage way (like going outside), which included putting on full clothing and shoes, then come back an us the sink in the kitchen area. Lovely in the middle of the night. Oh and mind you head on those beams directly over the bed! Outdated: The décor was a right old miss match of styles, colours and eras. Bazaar wall hangs from 80’s fairies in the bedroom to broken dish lids in the main room. The information folder and leaflet box was an archive in itself. Nothing useful in there at all however, rather funny. One of the leaflets was that old, the place had a pre 01 phone number and the activity cost 90p We come from the Lake Distract & Yorkshire and have a Jeep, so please don’t just read this and think townies. This place is awful to get to. The road to the cottage is narrow, steep, windy, muddy and difficult navigate in the dark. We decided not to walk on the road as it was unsafe. 4x4 is a must! I have so many more issues with this place. It needs some serious TLC and ‘we’ve only had the place 6 months, just does not cut it’.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your feedback on your stay in Rosedale Cottage. We really value our customers’ feedback and will use it to help improve our accommodation. So we’re sorry you were disappointed with the cottage - we don’t like our visitors to go home anything less than satisfied, refreshed and revitalised. We bought the business in April 2016, and you’ll be pleased to know that renovation is under way. The changes we have already made include the installation of high-speed broadband, all new single beds, bed linen, towels, brand new matching crockery and glassware. The website photographs show that Rosedale is a compact, beamed cottage but it has requisite seating and is more than adequately equipped for 4 people. Many families and parties with large dogs have happily stayed there before. Before guests arrive, the cottages are cleaned and prepared thoroughly so your comments about cleanliness are more than a little disappointing, but have been noted. As my welcome letter says: “If there is something wrong or missing, please just tell us whilst you are here; we can usually put it right! If you go home dissatisfied and just make comments online, then it’s too late for us to try and improve things for you.” Your stay was during the coldest week this year and we would happily have provided extra heating and removed unwanted chairs had you asked. In November we made a major investment in a new central boiler and thermostats for the cottages to complement the new hot water system installed earlier in the year. Farndale cottage (next to yours) has been the first to receive a super new shower room (including basin!) which you will be able to see once photographs are updated on the website. We consider that our ongoing program of improvement will enhance the stays of future visitors. The location is undeniably beautiful, but with its relative remoteness (2 ½ miles from the nearest village) comes the very quiet, narrow roads and fantastic walking countryside.

  • 5

    22/11/2016
    Confirmed guest, 13/11/2016
    The cottage was freezing when we arrived and felt that nobody had been in it for a while. It must have taken a good 24 hours to warm up and we used electric heaters to try to maintain temperature. We had to sit in virtually our jackets the first night. Apart from this the cottage isn't in a bad location and the cleanliness was ok.


  • 9

    16/11/2016
    Confirmed guest, 06/11/2016
    Super location for our short break. Fabulous views, even with inclement weather! Cottage was very cosy and comfortable. Suited our needs very well.


  • 9

    28/09/2016
    Confirmed guest, 27/08/2016
    Excellent cottage on the edge of the North Yourkshire moors. Will be going back as we were made very welcome and there were vast gardens for the dogs and countless walks all over the area. Very good and I have no hesiation in recommending the cottage to others. In fact the owners are going to refurbish most of them this winter and add dish washers to all. Brilliant holiday really enjoyed it and the cottage. I think watching a stote running around and playing just in front of our cottage windows was one of yhe highlights!


View All Guest Reviews
×

8.1 out of 10 – based on 15 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Alternative properties at this location

Sleeps 2 Property Ref: W43153 View Accommodation
Sleeps 2 Property Ref: W43152 View Accommodation
Sleeps 4 Property Ref: W43151 View Accommodation
Sleeps 4 Property Ref: W43155 View Accommodation

Local Area

Content to be added.

Looking for something with a little more?

Cotages with Hot tubs Cottages part of our Luxury collection Something with a swimming pool A place near the Coast

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers