by Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Shortlist
Back to Search

Nab End Farm Cottages - Rosedale

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Glaisdale Dale, near Whitby
Grade 3 Star rating
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

 

Duration

Loading
Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Done
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
Sleeps4
Bedrooms2
Bathrooms1
Pets 2

Why Us?

  • NEW FOR 2017: No credit card fees
  • Secure booking
  • Book 2015 for £25 Low deposit
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Over 30 years experience
  • 98% of guests would book again

This property is part of our Welcome Cottages collection

Welcome Cottages

A carefully curated collection of properties that offer high quality, good value accommodation in great locations across the UK and Ireland.


Description

An ideal base for exploring the highlights of the North Yorkshire’s moors and heritage coast.

These delightful, terraced barn conversions are situated in one of the most peaceful and beautiful areas of the North York Moors National Park, deep in the valley of Glaisdale Dale. Nab End Farm is home to five converted holiday cottages, Glaisdale (ref W43151), Eskdale (ref W43152), Rosedale (W43153), Silver Birches (ref W43155), Farndale (ref W43154). The friendly owners who live in the farmhouse welcome their guests with the warmth so typical of this lovely part of Yorkshire, and every care has been taken to ensure guests have an enjoyable holiday.
The cottages look out over immaculately maintained and manicured gardens with lawns, shrubs and flower borders, and guests are welcome to enjoy these 5-acre grounds, surrounded by sheep farms, pine woods, waterfalls and streams.
An abundance of walks lead from the doorstep to the dale and moors including both easy walks on footpaths and quiet lanes, and more challenging walks - so there is something suitable for all abilities. The area is rich in wildlife; guests have spotted deer, hares, and an abundance of birdlife including woodpeckers, kestrels and buzzards. Keen fishermen can enjoy good fishing in the River Esk and sea fishing out from Whitby. Cyclists can find challenging routes, as well as the former railway line at Blakey, 11 miles away, which follows a countour, so is suitable for children and the less ambitious cyclist.
The village of Glaisdale, 2½ miles, has a well-regarded butchers shop and a village shop/post office stocking newspapers, fresh bread, eggs, milk, fruit and veg, frozen foods and other items. The village pub, 3 miles, serves food from 12 noon.
Further afield, picturesque Lealholm, 4½ miles, has a pub with restaurant, a very well-stocked village shop, two tea rooms and a bakery. The stepping stones in the shallows of the River Esk and shrub nursery make this village a must for visitors.
Other pubs and eateries can be found at Egton, 5¼ miles, Aislaby, 9 miles, and Danby, 8 miles. The North York Moors National Park Centre, also at Danby, boasts tourist information, exhibitions, a children’s play area, tea rooms, a selection of walks and a programme of activities for adults and children alike. Whitby, 12 miles, is full of interest all year round with many cafes, tea shops and restaurants to suit all appetites and budgets. Known for its connections with Captain James Cook, and Bram Stoker’s Dracula, the town’s cobbled streets are crammed with tumbling cottages, a busy harbour, an a wealth of gift shops, and a 3-mile stretch of sandy beach, all overlooked by the cliff top abbey ruins. Visitors to Whitby can drive into the town, use the park and ride, or catch the train from Glaisdale railway station.
Nearby Goathland is the centre of Heartbeat country and boasts a pretty village green lined with curio shops, inns and tea rooms. From Grosmont, the North York Moors steam train makes for a memorable journey through the stunning moorland scenery and the glorious Esk Valley into the market town of Pickering. The Heritage coastline of Yorkshire is easily reached with spectacular clifftop walks affording breathtaking views across the coast and many quaint fishing villages awaiting discovery. Visit the smugglers’ coves of Robin Hood’s Bay and Runswick Bay, untouched by the hands of time, where pretty little cottages cling to the cliff edge and the steep cobbled bank leads to a sandy cove perfect for rock pooling and fossil hunting. Shop/PO 2½ miles, pub serving food 3 miles.

Ground floor: Living/dining room/kitchen. 1 twin bedroom. Bathroom with shower over bath and toilet. First floor: Galleried double bedroom.

Electric coal-effect fire in living room included. Gas central heating included. Parking (1 car).

All properties: Electricity, bed linen and towels included. Freeview TV. DVD. Electric cooker. Microwave. Shared laundry/utility room with washing machine, tumble dryer and freezer. Wi-Fi. Shared landscaped garden and grounds of 5 acres with furniture. Shared barbecue. Cycle store. Natural water supply from spring. NB: Pond in grounds, 75 yards.

Read more 

Features

  • BarbecueBarbecue
  • Bike StoreBike Store
  • Garden / PatioGarden / Patio
  • Free PetsFree Pets
  • Rural LocationRural Location
  • WifiWifi
  • Cot AvailableCot Available
  • Washing MachineWashing Machine
  • Open PlanOpen Plan
  • Car Parking - On SiteCar Parking - On Site

Customer Comments

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 02/01/2017
    Lovely place, great stay and Mrs Liddle is brilliant. The mark of 4 for local amenities is just because it's quite a trek to a shop. However we were fine with that and the remoteness was actually a plus point, since we're quite capable of going prepared. The amount of furniture in the main room made it tricky sometimes since there were 4 of us and 2 dogs.


  • 1

    Confirmed guest, 21/11/2016
    If Faulty Towers did cottages! Now where to start…. Something positive…. I love Yorkshire and the Whitby area. So we let ourselves in to the cottage, which was a struggle in itself. We stayed in the Rosedale cottage, which has an outer door that doesn’t open and close properly. It needed too hands and a right big push with your entire body to move. Very tricky on the way out when it’s a pull and you have a dog in tow. Dog friendly is not the same a dog tolerant! Nothing for a dog, not even a space suitable to put a dog bed, but I’ll get on to that shortly. We arrived bang on time yet there was nobody around to greet us. Our stay was in mid-November and there was beautiful snow on the hills. Didn’t seem to occur to anyone to put the heating on? The cottage was freezing and didn’t really improve until we had been there a few days and had every bit of electrical heater on in the place. After 15 mins or so we had a visitor, a hello from the owner, and in hind sight just seems a pre-emptive excuse for the state of the place. But that’s okay, they have Wi-Fi! I really could write an assay on the faults with this place, but if you want the short version Dirty, unsafe, cold, crowded, uncomfortable, out dated and awkward to get to. The bathroom has no stink! Dirty: The place had thick muck and dust over everything on the walls, and the wall/ceiling upstairs had mould, holes, oh and the cobwebs! Unsafe: Arching heater, kitchen layout horrendous (to make toast we had to balance the toaster on two feet on a cooker ring to reach the power point). The kettle and microwave within inches of the sink and constantly getting wet. Nails sticking out of the wall, at head height and sharp hooks with nothing on them. Crowded & Uncomfortable: Tiny main room with masses of furniture. There were only two of us and a dog and we struggled to sit down and see the TV. Four chairs round the table, but only room for two to sit, and then you can’t get to the kitchen area. We had to step over the dog and his bed to make a cuppa or go to the loo. The bathroom was that tiny! Me at just over 5 foot tall struggled to get in the shower. You can just image how my partner at 6’ 4” coped. And if you missed it…. THERE IS NO SINK! To go from the main bedroom to the bathroom, you had to go down stairs, trip over the furniture (and dog) out into the cold passage way (like going outside), which included putting on full clothing and shoes, then come back an us the sink in the kitchen area. Lovely in the middle of the night. Oh and mind you head on those beams directly over the bed! Outdated: The décor was a right old miss match of styles, colours and eras. Bazaar wall hangs from 80’s fairies in the bedroom to broken dish lids in the main room. The information folder and leaflet box was an archive in itself. Nothing useful in there at all however, rather funny. One of the leaflets was that old, the place had a pre 01 phone number and the activity cost 90p We come from the Lake Distract & Yorkshire and have a Jeep, so please don’t just read this and think townies. This place is awful to get to. The road to the cottage is narrow, steep, windy, muddy and difficult navigate in the dark. We decided not to walk on the road as it was unsafe. 4x4 is a must! I have so many more issues with this place. It needs some serious TLC and ‘we’ve only had the place 6 months, just does not cut it’.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your feedback on your stay in Rosedale Cottage. We really value our customers’ feedback and will use it to help improve our accommodation. So we’re sorry you were disappointed with the cottage - we don’t like our visitors to go home anything less than satisfied, refreshed and revitalised. We bought the business in April 2016, and you’ll be pleased to know that renovation is under way. The changes we have already made include the installation of high-speed broadband, all new single beds, bed linen, towels, brand new matching crockery and glassware. The website photographs show that Rosedale is a compact, beamed cottage but it has requisite seating and is more than adequately equipped for 4 people. Many families and parties with large dogs have happily stayed there before. Before guests arrive, the cottages are cleaned and prepared thoroughly so your comments about cleanliness are more than a little disappointing, but have been noted. As my welcome letter says: “If there is something wrong or missing, please just tell us whilst you are here; we can usually put it right! If you go home dissatisfied and just make comments online, then it’s too late for us to try and improve things for you.” Your stay was during the coldest week this year and we would happily have provided extra heating and removed unwanted chairs had you asked. In November we made a major investment in a new central boiler and thermostats for the cottages to complement the new hot water system installed earlier in the year. Farndale cottage (next to yours) has been the first to receive a super new shower room (including basin!) which you will be able to see once photographs are updated on the website. We consider that our ongoing program of improvement will enhance the stays of future visitors. The location is undeniably beautiful, but with its relative remoteness (2 ½ miles from the nearest village) comes the very quiet, narrow roads and fantastic walking countryside.

  • 5

    Confirmed guest, 13/11/2016
    The cottage was freezing when we arrived and felt that nobody had been in it for a while. It must have taken a good 24 hours to warm up and we used electric heaters to try to maintain temperature. We had to sit in virtually our jackets the first night. Apart from this the cottage isn't in a bad location and the cleanliness was ok.


  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 06/11/2016
    Super location for our short break. Fabulous views, even with inclement weather! Cottage was very cosy and comfortable. Suited our needs very well.


  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 27/08/2016
    Excellent cottage on the edge of the North Yourkshire moors. Will be going back as we were made very welcome and there were vast gardens for the dogs and countless walks all over the area. Very good and I have no hesiation in recommending the cottage to others. In fact the owners are going to refurbish most of them this winter and add dish washers to all. Brilliant holiday really enjoyed it and the cottage. I think watching a stote running around and playing just in front of our cottage windows was one of yhe highlights!


  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 01/07/2016
    A lovely little cottage in a beautiful, peaceful setting.


  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 03/06/2016
    Bathroom ! There was no sinkin the bathroom but there was one in the bedroom and there was mould on the walls and the blind on the window was mouldy , othere than that the cottage was good. It would be interesting when the cottages get there makeover as we are aware that they were new owners, in the light of the mould they should not be top end of the market my wife and two children one 19 years old and one 26 years old were ill, we do not no if this was from the mould spores or something they eat. After showering the bathroom walls were very wet


  • 3

    Confirmed guest, 10/03/2016
    Very dated decor, mould on blinds and shower curtain, bread bin dirty, no hand washing facility in the bathroom/toilet. Very cold on 1st night.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Sorry for the delay in replying to your feedback. At the time of your stay, the properties were still owned by the previous Owners; we bought the business from the retiring Owners very recently - in April 2016, and we knew that things were looking a little tired, so you’ll be pleased to know that renovation is being planned. We really value our customers’ feedback and will use it to help improve our accommodation; for example - we make sure that cottages are warm and welcoming and realise that at times heating needs to be turned up and running for longer in the colder months. We wanted first and foremost to honour the bookings taken by the previous owners, so an immediate refurb is not possible. However in the short time available, we have been able to make some changes – the cottages now all have brand new matching crockery and glassware; new bed linen and towels are being introduced and we are changing soft furnishings and smaller items of decor as quickly as we can. We have plans to update the cottages in a rolling programme in the winter time when things are quieter, and we plan to install high-speed broadband to all the cottages. We know that our visitors love the remoteness and beauty of this very special part of Yorkshire, and hope that you will like the improvements but find the essence of the place unchanged. So we’re sorry you were disappointed with the cottage - we don’t like our visitors to go home anything less than satisfied, refreshed and revitalised. Please visit the agent’s website again in the future and see the changes we’ve made. Thank you for your comments.

View All Guest Reviews
×

7.0 out of 10 – based on 15 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Alternative properties at this location

Sleeps 2 Property Ref: W43153 View Accommodation
Sleeps 2 Property Ref: W43152 View Accommodation
Sleeps 4 Property Ref: W43151 View Accommodation
Sleeps 4 Property Ref: W43155 View Accommodation

Local Area

Content to be added.

Looking for something with a little more?

Cotages with Hot tubs Cottages part of our Luxury collection Something with a swimming pool A place near the Coast