21,000+ quality-checked cottages 30+ years of cottage holidays 98% would book again No credit card fees New home of cottages4you 21,000+ quality-checked cottages 98% would book again 30+ years of cottage holidays No credit card fees New home of cottages4you
My Booking Help & Support
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking 'My Booking'. Close and don't show this message again. x
Shortlist
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.

Oakfield

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Stonehouse, Gloucestershire
Grade 3 Star rating
Sleeps18
Bedrooms6
Bathrooms3
Pets 2
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

 

Duration

Loading
Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Done
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×

Why Us?

  • No credit card fees
  • Secure booking
  • Book 2015 for £25 Low deposit
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers
  • Over 30 years experience
  • 98% of guests would book again

This property is part of our Cottages4you collection

cottages4you

In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


Description

Nearly in the middle of the Cotswold Way, great country and canal walks, Berkeley Castle, Slimbridge Wildfowl Trust easily reached.

Built in the early 1800s Oakfield retains the high ceilings and generously proportioned rooms typical of its period and status, whilst sympathetic modernisation allows for the conveniences of modern living. Comfortable, light and spacious holiday accommodation, with every room enjoying a view, mostly across the Frome River valley to the Cotswold escarpment. It features a flagstone entrance hall and an attractive, spacious dining room. Almost in the middle of the Cotswold Way there are great country and canal walks almost from the front door. Cycling, Honda pilots, clay shooting, flying, golf, fishing, riding, gliding, sports centre with indoor pool and a children’s soft play area all available locally, or try the dry ski slope, climbing wall, dock and museums in historic Gloucester. Cheltenham, Gloucester with its designer outlet area, and Cirencester are all within 15 miles. Hidcote Manor Gardens, Hailes Abbey, Berkeley Castle, Westonbirt Arboretum, Slimbridge Wildfowl Trust and the Cotswold Water Park provide interesting days out for all ages. Shop and pub ½ mile.

Ground floor: Living room with French doors. Conservatory. Dining room with double sofa bed and wooden floor. Kitchen. Utility room. 1 twin bedroom with additional single sofa bed. Curtained area with single sofa bed. Bathroom. 2 separate toilets. First floor: 5 bedrooms: 3 double, two (5ft) both with additional day bed, each with pull out single and en-suite bathroom with shower over bath, 2 twin. 2 shower rooms. All bedrooms have en-suite toilet.

Gas central heating, gas, electricity, bed linen and towels included. DVD. CD. Gas cooker. Electric oven. Microwave. Washing machine. Tumble dryer. Dishwasher. Freezer. Wi-fi. Stone terrace. Sitting-out area and furniture. Pool table. Ample parking. No smoking. Wheelchair access. NB: Enclosed terraced garden with drops which leads to canal. This property has a security deposit of £150.

This property can be booked for short breaks outside normal peak restrictions, please phone for details.

Read more 

Features

  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Ground Floor Facilities
    Ground Floor Facilities
  • Enclosed Garden / Patio
    Enclosed Garden / Patio
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Pub within 1 mile
    Pub within 1 mile
  • Wheelchair Access
    Wheelchair Access
  • Wifi
    Wifi
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • Shower Cubicle
    Shower Cubicle

Customer Comments

  • 8

    21/12/2017
    Confirmed guest, 04/12/2017
    Beautiful period house with well equipped kitchen and excellent social spaces indoors and outdoors. We were there for a weekend in December, it was quite cold. Once the house was warm it stayed warm but it took the first 24hrs to get there. Perhaps if the heating could be put on the day before guests arrive this would help? The water pressure in some of the showers was poor but it’s an old house and there are baths with lovely hot water as an alternative. Plenty of parking, easy to find, a lovely weekend away. Superb value for money.


  • 9

    16/12/2017
    Confirmed guest, 13/11/2017
    We stayed at Oakfield for a reunion with friends from university. The cottage was very well equipped and really spacious. It's great that each of the six bedrooms has its own toilet and sink. Very good value for money compared to other properties of the same size, so it's just missing a few touches like no hand soap in the bathrooms. But overall would highly recommend.


  • 10

    24/09/2017
    Confirmed guest, 18/09/2017
    Three generations of a family aged from 71 - 10, 18 in total. This was our first time renting accommodation for a long weekend break. Following a telephone call to the owner we were able to takeover the house 2hrs earlier than advertised. Old Victorian home dating back to about 1840 with large hallway with high ceilings. All rooms including bedrooms were clean and all beds made. Over the next few hours the family started arriving from the south and the midlands, all rooms allocated and everyone happy with the property. Because of its size we never felt crowded and having a pool room it enabled both adults and grandchildren to move around and lots of laughs were had. The dining room was an excellent size and one of our highlights was the ability for all 18 of us to eat together. A games evening was held on the Saturday and we again made full use of the room. The kitchen was well equipped with everything that we need, beds were comfortable and bedrooms were either en-suite or fitted with a wc. The weekend was a complete success and we plan another in 2018.


  • 5

    26/03/2017
    Confirmed guest, 20/03/2017
    Not homely but functional and clean - perhaps better for a stag or hen weekend. However it suited us for location and budget. As we were older folk we were pleased to have the extra loos and showers. The lighting in the reception areas was poor. A few replacement light bulbs might have helped! We moved a couple of bedside table lights downstairs in the day to help.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; We are sorry to see you were disappointed by our house. We try to ensure that it is clean, well equipped and comfortable; it is difficult with such a large house to tailor it to everyone's requirements. We would have been happy to come round if you had let us know you had problems to try and resolve them for you, there are also spare bulbs in the cupboard by the back door. We are pleased you managed to adapt the house by bringing down some bedside lamps to augment the lighting down stairs and hope that you still enjoyed your break.

  • 10

    10/03/2017
    Confirmed guest, 06/03/2017
    Comfortable, clean, warm and welcoming. The view from the back is beautiful, the walk along the local canal gorgeous (even in the rain). Stroud's farmer's market is recommended as is the town's Ale house (12 local(ish) beers on tap and all well kept). We had a lovely, relaxed weekend and would stay again.


  • 8

    13/03/2017
    Confirmed guest, 27/02/2017
    Fitted our family celebration perfectly


View All Guest Reviews
×

8.3 out of 10 – based on 15 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers