By Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Shortlist
Back to Search

Jurassic Cottage

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Portesham
Grade 3 Star rating
Sleeps4
Bedrooms2
Bathrooms1
Pets 1
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £37.00 booking fee.

 

Duration

Loading
Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Done
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900

Why Us?


This Cottage is brought to you by:

cottages4you

In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


Description

Vibrant Weymouth, Abbotsbury Swannery and many Dorset towns can be easily reached from this delightful cottage.

A delightful holiday cottage with a garden overlooking open fields, nestling peacefully in the village of Portesham. Abbotsbury with its swannery and sub-tropical gardens 3 miles. Vibrant seaside resort of Weymouth with sea-life centre 7 miles. Fine walks abound across the rolling Dorset hills, or along the shingle bank at Chesil beach. The Dorset coast from Swanage to Lyme Regis is easily accessible. The towns of Dorchester, Bridport and Lyme Regis are within easy driving distance. Horse riding is within ½ mile. Shop and pub serving food 400 yards.

Ground floor: Living room. Dining room/kitchen. Sun room. Cloakroom with toilet. Steep stairs to first floor: 2 bedrooms: 1 double (5ft), 1 twin (2ft 6in for children). Bathroom with shower over bath and toilet.

Open fire in living room (initial fuel included). NSH, convector heaters, electricity, bed linen and towels included. Travel cot. Microwave. Washing machine. Fridge/freezer. Wi-fi. Payphone. Garden and furniture. Barbecue. On road parking. NB: Shared steps to access garden. Slopes, drops and 2 sets of steps in the garden.

Read more 

Features

  • BarbecueBarbecue
  • Garden / PatioGarden / Patio
  • Pub within 1 milePub within 1 mile
  • Open FireOpen Fire
  • Horse Riding NearbyHorse Riding Nearby
  • Rural LocationRural Location
  • WifiWifi
  • Cot AvailableCot Available
  • Washing MachineWashing Machine

Customer Comments

  • 4

    Confirmed guest, 16/07/2016
    When we first opened the front door there was an overwhelming smell of bleach. The landfill bin was full with two bin bags placed on the top both of which had been punctured by what we can only assume as vermin. The smell was naturally unpleasant. We were instructed in the manual to carry the rubbish out on a Wednesday night. This we did in good faith, in the knowledge that none of this rubbish was ours. One of the bath towels had a large rip down the side. The upstairs toilet was filthy round the rim. Poorly equipped dirty plastic green garden furniture. One of the chairs had a split at the back and thus unusable. Parking was a minor problem but manageable. The location was quite good set in a repose full village setting. The Local pub was excellent. The accommodation ruined our holiday. It made us reluctant to use the kitchen as most things needed washing, or worse replacing. For the money we paid it was way below the standard we would have expected and therefore a great disappointment.


  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 28/05/2016
    Cottage smelt damp in the kitchen and conservatory for several days, then we obviously aired the cottage sufficiently so that the damp smell disappeared. There were quite a few wood lice downstairs on the floors which were relocated into the front garden each day. Cottage was comfy and pleasant.


  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 21/05/2016
    Perfect setting, pretty garden, very pleasant neighbours. The cottage was always warm, we also enjoyed the sun room. Being so near an excellent , friendly pub was a big plus! A better frying pan for an electric cooker would have been a good idea, and the owners need to be told that only 3 rings work on the cooker. Certainly recommendable.


  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 24/04/2016
    Very happy with our stay at this beautiful little (actually huge) cottage. Parking is a bit of a pain but you can park a short walk from the door. It was lovely and cosy and I miss waking to the cows every morning. Literally cannot complain about anything, there is pretty much everything you need in the cottage although I put in our little leaving note that a high chair would be good to have. We will be booking again one day!! I think I may even have to visit during winter just to get the little fire going. I was totally amazed by our visit & really appreciate the owners renting it to us. ☺️


  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 17/10/2015
    The house is in a good location in a pleasant village. We enjoyed local walks as well as driving a bit further afield. Unfortunately the oven in the cottage broke down on our 2nd evening & although we didn't intend to cook every evening it did make things more difficult, especially as there weren't many microwavable containers. The owner arranged for someone to look at the oven the next day but it wasn't mended during our stay. The smoke alarm was very sensitive so that when making toast someone had to stand below the alarm and keep wafting to silence it. I don't know if any adjustment to, or repositioning of, the alarm is possible so that it doesn't keep giving false alarms. For these reasons I have given a lower ranking to "comfort & equipment" than would otherwise have been the case.


  • 5

    Confirmed guest, 26/09/2015
    fantastic location for exploring Dorset Cottage is ok, not the best one I have stayed in. The garden is not what you expect. I would describe it as a shared garden. One half belongs to the cottage, the other to the neighbours but there is not divide. I went with a three year old, difficult to stop a child that age playing in the neighbours garden. Also if you had a dog it is not ideal. The TV does not work. Despite the fact we were out all day. If you have children you can't go out in the evening. So a TV that worked would be nice. It seems like some areas of the cottage are not finished. The downstairs toilet has lots of pipe work on display. There is no shower, I feel this would help update the cottage. The cottage could do we with a deep clean, cobwebs etc evident Despite going in September it was cold at night. I could not get the storage heaters to work. There is an open fire but not evidence of any wood. The care taking details left at the cottage need updating regarding points such as this. Finally you can not park outside the cottage the road is too narrow. Parking is very limited and you need to park some distance from the Cottage.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your feedback. We were sorry that you were dissatisfied with some aspects of the cottage. The TV and the heating do work, if you had alerted us to these things during your stay we would have acted on this immediately. The basket of wood for the open fire is supplied by us for bookings from the end of September but taking your comments on board we will provide this earlier next year. We seek to improve the cottage each year and a shower is being installed this winter. Cleaning is monitored on a regular basis.

  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 12/09/2015
    cottage was nice and location was good


View All Guest Reviews
×

6.9 out of 10 – based on 10 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Local Area

Content to be added.

Looking for something with a little more?

Cotages with Hot tubs Cottages part of our Luxury collection Something with a swimming pool A place near the Coast