By Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Letting your Property | My Booking | Help | Shortlist
Refine search
Back to Search

Jurassic Cottage

Portesham Grade 3 Star rating View Map
Pets 1
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £37.00 booking fee.



Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date

Why Us?

This Cottage is brought to you by:


In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


Vibrant Weymouth, Abbotsbury Swannery and many Dorset towns can be easily reached from this delightful cottage.

A delightful holiday cottage with a garden overlooking open fields, nestling peacefully in the village of Portesham. Abbotsbury with its swannery and sub-tropical gardens 3 miles. Vibrant seaside resort of Weymouth with sea-life centre 7 miles. Fine walks abound across the rolling Dorset hills, or along the shingle bank at Chesil beach. The Dorset coast from Swanage to Lyme Regis is easily accessible. The towns of Dorchester, Bridport and Lyme Regis are within easy driving distance. Horse riding is within ½ mile. Shop and pub serving food 400 yards.

Ground floor: Living room. Dining room/kitchen. Sun room. Cloakroom with toilet. Steep stairs to first floor: 2 bedrooms: 1 double (5ft), 1 twin (2ft 6in for children). Bathroom with toilet.

Open fire in living room (initial fuel included). NSH, convector heaters, electricity, bed linen and towels included. Travel cot. Video. Microwave. Washing machine. Fridge/freezer. Wi-fi. Payphone. Garden and furniture. Barbecue. On road parking.
NB: Shared steps to access garden. Slopes, drops and 2 sets of steps in the garden.

Read more 


  • BarbecueBarbecue
  • Cot AvailableCot Available
  • Garden / PatioGarden / Patio
  • Pub within 1 milePub within 1 mile
  • Open FireOpen Fire
  • Horse Riding NearbyHorse Riding Nearby
  • Rural LocationRural Location
  • WifiWifi
  • Car Parking AvailableCar Parking Available
  • Washing MachineWashing Machine

Customer Comments

  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 2015-10-17
    The house is in a good location in a pleasant village. We enjoyed local walks as well as driving a bit further afield. Unfortunately the oven in the cottage broke down on our 2nd evening & although we didn't intend to cook every evening it did make things more difficult, especially as there weren't many microwavable containers. The owner arranged for someone to look at the oven the next day but it wasn't mended during our stay. The smoke alarm was very sensitive so that when making toast someone had to stand below the alarm and keep wafting to silence it. I don't know if any adjustment to, or repositioning of, the alarm is possible so that it doesn't keep giving false alarms. For these reasons I have given a lower ranking to "comfort & equipment" than would otherwise have been the case.

  • 5

    Confirmed guest, 2015-09-26
    fantastic location for exploring Dorset Cottage is ok, not the best one I have stayed in. The garden is not what you expect. I would describe it as a shared garden. One half belongs to the cottage, the other to the neighbours but there is not divide. I went with a three year old, difficult to stop a child that age playing in the neighbours garden. Also if you had a dog it is not ideal. The TV does not work. Despite the fact we were out all day. If you have children you can't go out in the evening. So a TV that worked would be nice. It seems like some areas of the cottage are not finished. The downstairs toilet has lots of pipe work on display. There is no shower, I feel this would help update the cottage. The cottage could do we with a deep clean, cobwebs etc evident Despite going in September it was cold at night. I could not get the storage heaters to work. There is an open fire but not evidence of any wood. The care taking details left at the cottage need updating regarding points such as this. Finally you can not park outside the cottage the road is too narrow. Parking is very limited and you need to park some distance from the Cottage.

    Response from: Administrator

    Response on behalf of the owner: Thank you for your feedback. We were sorry that you were dissatisfied with some aspects of the cottage. The TV and the heating do work, if you had alerted us to these things during your stay we would of acted on this immediately. The basket of wood for the open fire is supplied by us from booking from the end of September but taking your comments on board we will provide this earlier next year. We seek to improve the cottage each year and a shower is being installed this winter. Cleaning is monitored on a regular basis .

  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 2015-09-12
    cottage was nice and location was good

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 2015-06-07
    Generally good cottage in a lovely location. Facilities in the village were a little disappointing, but would consider visiting again.

View All Guest Reviews

6.8 out of 10 – based on 9 reviews collected by Reevoo

You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Local Area

Content to be added.

You are now on our new website!

We've made changes to help you browse accommodation on your phone, tablet or desktop. Please let us know what you think by answering a few questions on our short survey below.

Give your feedback Continue

Take me back to the old site