By Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Letting your Property | My Booking | Help | Shortlist
Refine search
Back to Search

Ithon Barns - Polly’s Cottage

Cwmbrith Isaf, nr. Llandrindod Wells Grade 3 Star rating View Map
Pets 1
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £37.00 booking fee.



Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date

Why Us?

This Cottage is brought to you by:


In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


Guests can enjoy 2 miles of fishing when staying at Polly’s Cottage - a tranquil area close to Llandrindod Wells.

Set in a tranquil valley
Fishing on the River Ithon

This stone built granary and barn date from about 1675, sympathetically converted into two attractive, semi-detached cottages, with many interesting features, including spiral staircases, original timbers and gallery bedrooms with extensive views of the valley. Situated adjacent to the owner’s home, reached by a short track, but separate from farming activity. Set in a tranquil area of valley and hills, with over 800 acres of farmland and 2 miles of Single and Double Bank fishing on the River Ithon, for guests exclusive enjoyment. Excellent walking country, yet only 3 miles from Llandrindod Wells with shops, pubs and restaurants.

Ground floor: Living/dining room/kitchen. Shower room with toilet. Spiral staircase to first floor: Galleried area with double (5ft) bed.

Both properties: Woodburner in living room (initial fuel included). Economy 7 central heating included (£20per week October-March). Electricity and bed linen included. Cot. Video. Electric cooker. Microwave. Gravel and grassed area with picnic bench. Parking.

Read more 


  • Bike StoreBike Store
  • Cot AvailableCot Available
  • Gold AwardGold Award
  • Enclosed Garden / PatioEnclosed Garden / Patio
  • Garden / PatioGarden / Patio
  • Rural LocationRural Location
  • Woodburning StoveWoodburning Stove
  • Car Parking AvailableCar Parking Available

Customer Comments

  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 2015-10-03
    Hosts and location very pleasant. Cottage is somewhat small, and the spiral staircase could prove difficult for some people. Our dog was free to go fishing with me along the vast area of land, but there are large numbers of sheep, so a well controlled pet is essential. Lovely river to fish, and abundant wildlife, Kingfishers, Red Kites, Buzzards, Herons etc. The town is only five minutes away, though the road to the farm is very narrow, we did not encounter any problems. Various walks nearby. Cottage could do with some updating, (new crockery, utensils and a new worktop,) There were no cleaning products to use, no vacuum cleaner, or iron. Hanging clothes proved difficult, as there was very little room for this. A relaxing get away vacation, especially if the above comments are sorted.

  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 2015-08-09
    Beautiful location and property, only let down was the shared garden our neighbours had 2 big dogs 1 of the dogs wasn't friendly with our dog so we were unable to let him out to enjoy the shared garden! I think it should be made clear especially given that this is a"dog friendly" property that the garden is shared. Really disappointed we couldn't make the most of the outside area as this was the main reason we booked pollys cottage.

    Response from: Administrator

    Response on behalf of the owner; We are genuinely sorry our guests had this experience during their weekend stay at Polly's Cottage. Yes, it is a shared garden, but issues between customers is very much a rarity. I would like to thank these guests for their positive scores in other aspects of the cottage. On the plus side, we do have a 1000 acres of farmland around the cottage for all guests to use and enjoy.

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 2015-06-12
    We had a wonderful stay at Polly's Cottage. The cottage is comfortable and cozy and the views are beautiful. It's so peaceful - a real retreat! The owners are very nice and friendly too. We will definitely visit again!

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 2015-05-23
    A very peaceful stay in beautiful surroundings.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 2015-03-16
    Just spent 3 days at Pollys cottage mid March. The place has stunning views of the surrounding area .The cottage is well equiped with all mod cons (3 tvs ) a stereo ,dvd player etc.the place is of ample size for two people with a sun room over looking the river. Also it has a fenced off garden area to let your dog wonder freely . Our dog also enjoyed interacting with the owners friendly sheep dogs.I found the place very clean and tidy on arrival and had a nice welcome off the owners who made us feel at home. The wood burner made it very cosey and enjoyable to stay in in the evening after long walks exploring the countryside during the day, the place is full of character and charm and is well looked after buy the owners who run the farm that it is situated on. Ive spent many a years traveling the world and in comparison this short break was most enjoyable after not having the hassle of airports it was nice to relax in your own backyard and explore my own country and it has inspired me to look for similar places over the coming years. We are also hope to return in the near future and try out the larger cottage next door with the grand kids and share the experience has its definately value for money and time well spent . Andy and Bev

  • 3

    Confirmed guest, 2014-12-28
    The actual location was good and situated on a farm was good though one of the sheep dogs was constantly following one of our dogs who disliked it and despite speaking to the owner they appeared reluctant to do anything to help. The kitchen was extremely poorly equiped and even though the owners were aware that we would be cooking a christmas dinner it was difficult. There were very few items of crockery that were not chipped or broken (a store for bacteria to breed). No glasses matched. No knife to prepare vegetables. We had to ask for clean teatowels as were only provided with a tatty one. We were unaware that no towels were included as we have done many of these types of breaks and that is always something that is included, so had to go out and buy some. We asked for more pillows as the ones that were provided were old and flat- we felt this was a mistake as the amount of questions we were asked made us feel very uncomfotable. The owners (lady) was very nosey wanting to know why we had a van and not a car, she commented on the amount of logs we'd brought with us for the log burner. We felt overall that we had booked a Christmas break to get away and relax but that didn't happen as such. The people in the next barn were lovely people and very friendly. They too shared many of the same comments. Too they felt it was poorly equiped and very DIRTY.

    Response from: Administrator

    Response on behalf of the owner; We were most disappointed and surprised to read your comments regarding some aspects of your stay at Polly’s Cottage. We feel that we did everything possible to ensure your stay was pleasant and comfortable and honoured your request of bringing an additional dog and even embraced the unexpected arrival of a pet rabbit which was placed in a large hutch in our garden. We are sorry that one of our dogs caused you an inconvenience; as soon as you mentioned this we made sure that all of our dogs were kept away from the property and this was not a problem for the remainder of your stay. The equipment provided within the cottage, particularly the kitchen, complies with the property inventory that is provided by Cottages 4 You. We have never received a complaint of this nature before. Additional tea towels and pillows were immediately provided on request and the original items had all been recently purchased. We were very sorry that you construed our friendly and helpful nature as nosy. We always aim to be as unobtrusive as possible but at the same time, be on hand to assist with any queries and give a friendly and helpful service. The guests occupying Sophie’s Barn during the same period commented that they were enjoying their Christmas break and appeared to be very happy. In regards to cleanliness, we are most attentive to detail and work hard to maintain our high standards. Previous customer comments are consistent in their praise of the cottage therefore we find it difficult to respond to your comments on the cleanliness of Polly’s Cottage. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we are sorry that our cottage did not meet your expectations.

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 2014-08-16
    Stayed here in August 14. Cottage has an unusual layout but we enjoyed it, especially sitting in the sun lounge of an evening. The owners dogs frequently visit the cottage gardens as there is a hole in the fence. One evening, i let our dog out for the loo before bed and i heard a commotion, my large dog came running in with a bite mark to his face and leg. Nothing serious but it put us off a bit.

View All Guest Reviews

8.6 out of 10 – based on 17 reviews collected by Reevoo

You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Alternative properties at this location

Sleeps 4 Property Ref: 15332 View Accommodation

Local Area

Content to be added.

You are now on our new website!

We've made changes to help you browse accommodation on your phone, tablet or desktop. Please let us know what you think by answering a few questions on our short survey below.

Give your feedback Continue

Take me back to the old site