By Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Letting your Property | My Booking | Help | Shortlist
Back to Search

Heckingham Manor

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Heckingham, nr. Loddon Grade 5 Star rating View Map
Sleeps10
Bedrooms4
Bathrooms2
Pets 3
×
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £37.00 booking fee.

 

Duration

Loading
Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Done
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900

Why Us?


This Cottage is brought to you by:

cottages4you

In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


Description

Secluded location, this imposing house has uninterrupted views, ideal for larger groups of family and friends, Somerleyton Hall nearby.

Heckingham Manor has a very secluded location, standing detached with no immediate neighbours, situated in its own large secure lawn gardens with uninterrupted views to open countryside. This holiday farmhouse is full of character, comfortably furnished and equipped to provide all modern day comforts. It is situated at the owners’ mixed farm at Heckingham Hall in the heart of South Norfolk. This mixed farm has rare breed animals including native ’red poll’ cattle and farms with consideration for wildlife and the environment. Guests are welcome to enjoy the practices of the farm; an informative guided walk around the farm and its animals is given by the farmer, followed by a welcoming seasonal lunch, prepared with fresh produce from the farm or sourced locally (guests are encouraged to book prior to arrival due to limited availability, a charge will be made for lunch and sturdy footwear is recommended). Guests are welcome to walk around the designated grass tracks and see the amazing wildlife including deer, owls, woodpeckers and lapwings. The quiet lanes and footpaths offer excellent walking and cycling direct from doorstep. It is within and easy drive of the Norfolk Broads for daily boat hire and river trips. There are traditional seaside resorts with excellent sandy beaches including Lowestoft ,17 miles. Pleasurewood Hills American Theme Park, 17 miles. Somerleyton Hall and Gardens, 9 miles. Southwold, 22 miles. beach, life boat, museum, lighthouse, shops, cafes and pubs. Also close by is the market town of Beccles, the Reedham ferry, 2 miles and Norwich is 14 miles. Shop, pub and restaurant 2 miles.

Ground floor: Living room with wooden floor. Dining room with wooden floor. Kitchen/breakfast room. Utility room.1 twin bedroom. Separate toilet. First floor: 3 bedrooms: 2 double (5ft), one with en-suite shower room and toilet, one with additional single, 1 twin with additional single. Bathroom with bath, shower cubicle and toilet.

Woodburner in living room (initial fuel included). Oil central heating and electricity by meter reading. Oil, bed linen and towels included. Travel cot. High chair. Freeview TV. DVD. Oil Aga. Electric cooker. Washing machine. Dishwasher. Fridge/freezer. Wi-fi. Large garden and furniture. Ample parking. Hot tub. No smoking.

Read more 

Features

  • Detached PropertyDetached Property
  • DishwasherDishwasher
  • Garden / PatioGarden / Patio
  • HighchairHighchair
  • Hot TubHot Tub
  • Rural LocationRural Location
  • StairgateStairgate
  • Woodburning StoveWoodburning Stove
  • WifiWifi
  • Cot AvailableCot Available
  • Car Parking AvailableCar Parking Available
  • Washing MachineWashing Machine
  • Heritage CollectionHeritage Collection
  • Green SchemeGreen Scheme

Customer Comments

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 29/02/2016
    Myself, my partner and 6 friends recently stayed at heckingham manor for our hen weekend. I had seen pictures of the house but they were nothing in comparison to how fantastic it was! The house is so beautiful itself and is filled with beautiful furniture. Everything was provided for us (much much more than i expected) we had piles of clean towels waiting , washing up/dishwasher tabs and every possible piece of equipment you could need for your stay. We spent the first hour in awe of how full the kitchen cupboards were! Not once did we need something that the owners hadnt already thought of. The owners themselves were lovely, very friendly, nothing too much bother for them and if you need anything they are there in 5 minutes. The beds were so comfy, showers and bath fantastic. The location was perfect, like a dream. Looking out of every window has an amazing view, i only live 35 minutes away yet i felt like i was miles and miles away from home! The sheep are basically in the back garden which was lovely to watch them during the day, from the hot tub (which was massive and absolutely fantastic) you could see the cows and the ducks in the pond. We took our two little dogs with us and the whole place was perfect for them too. The garden is so secure (i am a panicker when it comes to my dogs, so this was a big relief) it meant i could relax in the hot tub knowing they were safe. Overall every one of us had a fantastic stay! The only downside for me was that i had to leave at the end of the weekend. From the minute i got home ive been planning my next visit! Thanks for such a lovely stay :)


  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 22/02/2016
    We had a wonderful long weekend break at Heckingham Manor - the house was just what we wanted, and the hot-tub was a great little extra! Everyone had a super time - including our dogs!


  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 19/02/2016
    We had a lovely time, beautiful house and stunning location. Lack of towels, tea towels and cleaning materials such as washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, so recommend you bring your own.Also bring extra towels for the hot tub. Owners were friendly and welcoming. More information on the local footpaths and cycle paths would have been useful.

    Response from: administrator

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your kind comments. The property is self-catering however we do have an inventory list that is checked and signed off every week and this includes items to help you such as dishwasher tablets,(minimum of 5), washing up liquid, multi cleaner under the sink. Tea towels x 3 and new dishcloths are left by the sink. Towels are left in the laundry room. It is advisable to bring extra towels for the hot tub. Full footpath details are in our house book and our website along with lots of information to help with your stay. We are always happy to help with anything however small. To get you started we also leave tea, coffee, sugar and milk, salt, pepper and herbs at the property along with a dozen eggs (as available).

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 08/01/2016
    An ideal cottage for our family to be together in the New Year, we all enjoyed the hot tub and watching the barn owl. We also managed to visit West Stow Anglo-saxon village which i have wanted to do for ages.


  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 04/01/2016
    We had a lovely family holiday here - only a couple of things I would change, but overall really really good.


  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 07/12/2015
    Heckingham Manor really was lovely and the 8 of us had a fantastic weekend. Beautiful and comfortable accommodation - kitchen, stunning; living room and log burner, wonderful. Games and DVDs were a nice addition when 50 mph winds prevented us from going outdoors!! As we were all couples, the fact that there were a lot of single beds was a little annoying - perhaps zip 'n' link singles would be an idea? The hot tub was fantastic but had the instructions been a little clearer, we would have been able to enjoy it even more. If you want seclusion, this is the house for you!! Very private. Unfortunately the only outside light that was working was by the hot tub so finding our way around the exterior of the property after dark was a little tricky! The owners could not have been lovelier and their son was invaluable to us - nothing was too much trouble for him! We will definitely be back

    Response from: Administrator

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thank you for your kind comments, most welcome to come again! The bulb went in the outside light, if you had let us know we could have sorted this immediately. The hot tub instructions say not to touch the control buttons but you managed to turn the hot tub into sleep mode! Please do let us know if we can be of any help however small.

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 30/11/2015
    Such a good break, shame we didn't have nicer weather!


  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 23/11/2015
    My friends and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend away at Heckingham Manor. Lovely spacious communal areas in the living room and kitchen (easily accommodated the 9 of us) . The kitchen is also well equipped. Hot tub was a bonus! Hoping to stay again next year.


  • 6

    Confirmed guest, 20/11/2015
    All in all it is a beautiful cottage in a peaceful surrounding and is a great base to visit the surrounding areas. However it is let down by one too many 'niggles'. Firstly we had to wait half an hour from when we arrived before we were met with the keys and as anyone with children and / or dogs knows, waiting around after a long journey isn't pleasant. The thing that irks the most is that we are asked to call a few days before to confirm the time we are arriving so it seems a bit pointless if we then call upon arrival and no-one answers.. Obviously this is a minor issue and may well have been a one-off so no big deal. A bigger issue we had though (previously mentioned in another review) is the extra electricity / oil charges. Firstly I don't like paying extra when you have no idea how much you are looking at but as this was a holiday for 9 of us I went with the majority. Secondly, I find it incredibly unfair to pay for the fact that the Aga and hot-tub were on permanently without being given any choice or approximate costings. As it was we were asked to pay £62 for the week which I find unbelievably high and if I had any clue it would be this much it would have taken us out of our budget and therefore wouldn't have booked it; which is why I don't like extra costs. It would be much fairer to just add £50 onto the weekly price in the months the Aga and hot tub are on so people know what the week would be costing them. As it was we didn't actually see the meter readings even though it stated they were left on the table upon arrival (why not show us the readings from the actual meter? A big TRUST ask tbh) didn't want to cause a fuss as in a large group of couples so left that one alone. Unfortunately none of us knew how to use an Aga and the instructions may as well have been in Russian for the good it did so it was left alone, however there was an electric cooker with hob so we used that - although be warned, the numbers / markers have long gone so it is guesswork to figure out which way to turn the knobs for the hob and grill. The Aga did indeed heat the entire house for the whole week and we didn't need to turn on the heating at all, would the cost have been lower without the Aga and heating on instead? No idea, only Aga fans would really know. I did hate the fact that the kitchen was boiling hot though, it made it incredibly stressful to cook for 9 people in those conditions and having windows open with gale force winds was not really an option. Another 'niggle' was the dog walking. Being remote was lovely in that it was quiet and peaceful but it wasn't exactly what we expected. we were surrounded by dicey country lanes (some single track) which meant walking the dogs anywhere was difficult and required more than one of us. Although we found a fair few footpaths around we were mainly skirting farmers fields and country lanes so the dogs were hardly ever off the lead and the long scenic dog walks we were hoping for were non-existent. If you want good walks you have to go in the car. The lounge had 3 (large) two-seater sofas so seating 8 adults was awkward and uncomfortable. The sofas were two seaters so although 3 can fit it means you get very close to the other two people you're sharing with! It meant we all couldn't sit together and watch tv or play a game which was annoying. Also the dining table sat 8 people rather snugly so any more and you wouldn't really fit. There were games and DVDs in a drawer but nothing was complete and no discs were in the cases which I think is a bit lazy. I'm sure it was caused by untidy and rude house-guests but the owners should make a point of keeping things nice and neat so that should be checked upon regularly - as we spent a while looking for something we can make a game out of! Although it appears that I have a lot of complaints, they are all relatively small issues but all together it meant that we didn't quite get what we thought we were getting and therefore wouldn't do again or recommend to a friend. It really is a lovely big house in a good place to explore Norfolk / Suffolk border so if you aren't bothered about driving everywhere and don't have dogs then this place is a good choice but beware the extra electricity charges.

    Response from: administrator

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your feedback. Thank you also for the beautiful picture of the barn owl that you sent to us, It was amazing. We do not wish for any of our customers to be disappointed and would like to stress that they read the full description of the property before booking. It states that oil and electric are extra. The booking confirmation sent to the client by the holiday company also states this and to contact us regarding the Aga and or the hot tub. We are at a loss as to why these guests did not contact us. We spoke to them on arrival and made sure they were settled in the cottage, they seemed happy. We advised them to call us if they had any queries; they also had the property instructions in the cottage. This has full instructions for the Aga and hot tub. It also states to call us if they require the Aga or hot tub to be turned off. During the week we received a call to say the hot tub lid had blown off. We attended and found it was because the straps had been left off, we made sure it was secure. We are unsure why these guests did not ask for the Aga and hot tub to be turned off when they called? We are happy to help with any matter however small or large. Dog walking is amazing in our area!There are 200 acres of fields literally opposite the gate to walk round. This is also in the property instructions at the house. There are many fabulous walks including walking to Reedham ferry and Loddon, all on fields, footpaths and quiet roads. There is a great footpath at the end of the field next to the cottage that is off road and quiet. However to avoid unnecessary accidents it is unacceptable to leave your dogs roaming and running wild without any supervision. The manor has a large enclosed garden and is ideal for dogs. Foot path details are in the property instructions in the cottage We only charged £50 for the whole week for the oil and electric. For a house full of 10 it is to be expected and can be more especially given the size of the house and the time of year. We are more than happy to provide photographic evidence of the meter readings for any guests but the meters are there for guests to see. We live on the farm next to this property and are always around. We also supply 3 phone numbers to call us on arrival as we know that traffic cannot guarantee arrival times. We wonder if they only tried one number? As soon as they did call us we attended immediately. We can confirm the sofas are 3 seater sofas and the sofas are new Marks and Spencer ones. The dining room table seats 10 and the kitchen table 4, please see the dining room and the sitting room pictures on the website. To conclude, we are extremely dog friendly. We have clear instructions in the house to help with our clients stay and we are always happy to help with any questions queries or problems whatsoever. The property is in a beautiful rural area and a dog walker’s paradise.

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 02/11/2015
    This is the second time I have stayed at heckingham and I was not disappointed! In fact just 1 year on and changes have been made to make this cottage so much better! Perfect for children. Secluded so you're not concerned about making too much noise and upsetting the neighbours. I am So looking forward to my next stay!


  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 22/10/2015
    The house was lovely, it's in a remote and quiet location with a large private garden. The hot tub is a nice added touch and even though we went in October was an enjoyable experience. We booked the cottage for a work meeting and team building event and it was ideal for this. The kitchen is huge and there is plenty of room for 10 people to move around and work in there. The beds are comfy and clean and a good amount of single beds available which was a must for our group. I would definitely use the cottage again if we are in the area as it is a much more cost effective way to get a team together for a few days. The owners were really nice and extremely helpful.


  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 21/09/2015
    The cottage was perfect for our requirements. I thought the electricity and oil charge was quite expensive for just a weekend but other than that it was lovely.

    Response from: administrator

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for coming to our cottage and your lovely comments. To help others, oil and electric is metered and charged for what is used. Please note it is advisable to replace the insulated hot tub cover after use as this will waste energy. There are full separate controls for the heating for upstairs and downstairs to minimize cost. The house is also fully insulated. Please note that oil and electric will be more than normally used at home due to the property accommodating 10 people and having a hot tub.

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 28/08/2015
    Amazing property which exceeded our expectations, very large and homely with everything we could possibly need, with the hot tub as a bonus. Farm tour with the really friendly property owners was great, really interesting for adults and children alike, and the dog had a great time too. Overall a lovely relaxing and fun time :)


  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 07/08/2015
    I cannot praise this property high enough, fantastic location well equipped ,Liz the owner is fantastic she made us feel very welcome upon our arrival. We were a family of 8 with two small dogs, who may I add they loved the gardens. We would certainly recommend this property for anyone looking for a great holiday in Norfolk.


View All Guest Reviews
×

9.2 out of 10 – based on 20 reviews collected by Reevoo

You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Local Area

Content to be added.