By Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Letting your Property | My Booking | Help | Shortlist
Refine search
Back to Search

Grange Cottage

Topcliffe, Thirsk Grade 3 Star rating View Map
Pets 2
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £37.00 booking fee.



Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date

Why Us?

This Cottage is brought to you by:

English Country Cottages

From a touch of luxury to characterful heritage, experience one of our truly inspiring holiday properties.


Just 4 miles from THirsk and within easy reach of York, Grange Cottage offers a perfect base for a family holiday.

Standing in attractive lawned gardens on the edge of the village, this spacious and well-equipped cottage offers a very comfortable base for exploring the surrounding countryside of the beautiful Vale of York, the Yorkshire Dales and the North York Moors. The area has a wealth of historic abbeys, castles and stately homes to visit, and hill walking, pony-trekking, golf and coarse fishing are available locally. Nearby the attractive market town of Thirsk (4 miles) offers many amenities and the ‘World of James Herriot’ – the former surgery of the famous vet and author. Historic York 20 miles. Three village pubs, two serving excellent food. Shop 400 yards.

Sitting room with open fire. Spacious farmhouse kitchen with dining area and quarry-tiled floor. Second sitting room with TV and sofa-bed (for alternative sleeping). Steep stairs to first floor: Double bedroom with en-suite shower room and toilet. Two twin bedrooms. Bathroom with toilet.

  • Open fire – logs included
  • Electricity, full gas central heating, bed linen and towels included
  • Cot
  • High chair
  • Two TVs
  • Microwave
  • Washer/dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Enclosed garden with patio and furniture
  • Barbecue
  • Parking for (2 cars)

Read more 


  • BarbecueBarbecue
  • Cot AvailableCot Available
  • Detached PropertyDetached Property
  • DishwasherDishwasher
  • Enclosed Garden / PatioEnclosed Garden / Patio
  • Garden / PatioGarden / Patio
  • HighchairHighchair
  • Pub within 1 milePub within 1 mile
  • Open FireOpen Fire
  • Rural LocationRural Location
  • Car Parking AvailableCar Parking Available
  • Washing MachineWashing Machine

Customer Comments

  • 6

    Confirmed guest, 2015-08-14
    The cottage was not cleaned to the standard I expected, plates had food on and the kitchen floor was filthy. There was an overpowering smell of drains in the family bathroom, and the sash windows would only open at the bottom leaving the opening at a dangerous level for small children. All the taps had to be over turned before any water came through which meant they were often left running as it was difficult to turn them off. The doors to the outside were very difficult to open, making an escape, if there were to be a fire very hazardous. Which leads to the gas safety certificate being out of date! For a cottage that could sleep 8, I found the kitchen under stocked with basic equipment, especially if you used the dishwasher. I am basing my opinion on previous accommodation booked through Cottages4you, this cottage was the most expensive, so I was not impressed.

    Response from: Administrator

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay at Grange Cottage. The property is thoroughly cleaned to a high standard before each let, we pride ourselves on high standards however we apologise for the shortcomings listed and would like to assure all of our guests that this will be a one-off occurrence. The house was repainted externally in June (2015) and unbeknown to us, some of the sash windows were stuck at the top. Following your comments, we immediately asked the decorator back to free the windows which were stuck. We appreciate you were concerned however, had you contacted us during your stay, we would have addressed the issue of the opening of the lower sashes. Our gas engineer fitted some new parts to the gas boiler in March (2015) and in re-commissioning it after fitting the new parts, did the same checks as are required by the safety certificate, so the certificate may have suggested that the gas boiler had not been serviced for 14 months whereas in fact, it had been fully serviced this spring (2015). The engineer thought that as the old certificate still had 3 months to run, it was a bit early to issue a new one. Fire safety is of utmost importance to us and we appreciate your concerns in regards to the doors. We had an additional key cut for the entrance door and it does not turn as easily as the original. We normally keep it for our own use however; the keys accidentally got switched on the changeover. Should you have voiced your concerns, we could have exchanged the key to the entrance door to solve that problem and tried oiling the lock of the other door to cure it. We would have been pleased to attend immediately to the issues listed had you contacted us during your stay but we appreciate that you were on holiday, in what is a lovely location. We trust you enjoyed your stay in Thirsk and once again, thank you for your comments.

View All Guest Reviews

8.0 out of 10 – based on 7 reviews collected by Reevoo

You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Local Area

Content to be added.

You are now on our new website!

We've made changes to help you browse accommodation on your phone, tablet or desktop. Please let us know what you think by answering a few questions on our short survey below.

Give your feedback Continue

Take me back to the old site