By Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Letting your Property | My Booking | Help | Shortlist
Back to Search

Grange Cottage

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Topcliffe, Thirsk
Grade 3 Star rating
Sleeps8
Bedrooms3
Bathrooms2
Pets 2
×
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £37.00 booking fee.

 

Duration

Loading
Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Done
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900

Why Us?


This Cottage is brought to you by:

English Country Cottages

From a touch of luxury to characterful heritage, experience one of our truly inspiring holiday properties.


Description

Just 4 miles from THirsk and within easy reach of York, Grange Cottage offers a perfect base for a family holiday.

Standing in attractive lawned gardens on the edge of the village, this spacious and well-equipped cottage offers a very comfortable base for exploring the surrounding countryside of the beautiful Vale of York, the Yorkshire Dales and the North York Moors. The area has a wealth of historic abbeys, castles and stately homes to visit, and hill walking, pony-trekking, golf and coarse fishing are available locally. Nearby the attractive market town of Thirsk (4 miles) offers many amenities and the ‘World of James Herriot’ – the former surgery of the famous vet and author. Historic York 20 miles. Three village pubs, two serving excellent food. Shop 400 yards.

Sitting room with open fire. Spacious farmhouse kitchen with dining area and quarry-tiled floor. Second sitting room with TV and sofa-bed (for alternative sleeping). Steep stairs to first floor: Double bedroom with en-suite shower room and toilet. Two twin bedrooms. Bathroom with toilet.

  • Open fire – logs included
  • Electricity, full gas central heating, bed linen and towels included
  • Cot
  • High chair
  • Two TVs
  • Microwave
  • Washer/dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Enclosed garden with patio and furniture
  • Barbecue
  • Parking for (2 cars)

Read more 

Features

  • BarbecueBarbecue
  • Detached PropertyDetached Property
  • DishwasherDishwasher
  • Enclosed Garden / PatioEnclosed Garden / Patio
  • Garden / PatioGarden / Patio
  • HighchairHighchair
  • Pub within 1 milePub within 1 mile
  • Open FireOpen Fire
  • Rural LocationRural Location
  • Cot AvailableCot Available
  • Car Parking AvailableCar Parking Available
  • Washing MachineWashing Machine

Customer Comments

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 25/03/2016
    Great place to stay definitely would stay again


  • 6

    Confirmed guest, 19/02/2016
    The property wasn't very clean on arrival as there was a fine layer of dust clearly visisble. The cottage could do with some work. None of the doors shut properly and the door to the garden was very difficult to open. female members of our party and children unable to do so. The property suffers from damp as can be seen on the walls and from the condensation on the windows. The carpet strip at the top of the stairs had been nailed on and when we arrived two of the nails were sticking up. I moved the strip and put under a bed for the duration of our stay. The hot water in the main bathroom was barely a dribble from the sink tap and the electric shower in the en-suite is not very powerful. The kitchen equipment was old, oven a bit manky and pots and pans in need of replacement. The cottage benefits from being detached, is in a great location and the fire is great and a must to keep the property warm as the radiators are old single ones and some not working efficiently. With a bit of updating this would be a great place to stay especially in the summer when dampness would not be a factor. The owner was very friendly and replenished logs for fire when requested.


  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 04/01/2016
    Lovely cottage, friendly and helpful owner. Despite already knowing the area reasonably well we still found plent of places to go and things to do. Unfortunately when we visited much of the country was flooded which slightly limited choices.


  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 27/11/2015
    Nice village and the cottage is close to the pubs and shops. Enjoyed eating in the Crab & Lobster and the Angel. Cosy and warm in November. It's a bit dated as most cottages are, but really enjoyed our time, and the owner Charles is pleasant and helpful, and next door if you have a problem. Noisy sheep in a really rural outlook was even fun. Topcliffe is ideal for travelling with main roads on the doorstep, easy for Teeside, Leeds, Ripon, Thirsk , Harrogate.


  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 31/08/2015
    We booked this cottage for a family weekend and had an amazing time! We found the cottage from the directions given by the owner. It is in a beautiful quiet corner of North Yorkshire . The cottage was spotlessly clean,3 double bedrooms upstairs and another downstairs. The kitchen was stocked with everything you needed, home from home with extra little touches like eggs left for breakfast,odds and ends which you generally forget, in the cupboards . The sitting room had lots of books and dvds, ready for a rainy day! The garden was enclosed which was a big plus as we had 2 lively dogs with us. The village had 1 pub in walking distance and a fish and chip van on Friday night, which is a definite must!!! The owner was on hand if needed, nothing was any bother to him.We would love to be able to return again next year


  • 6

    Confirmed guest, 14/08/2015
    The cottage was not cleaned to the standard I expected, plates had food on and the kitchen floor was filthy. There was an overpowering smell of drains in the family bathroom, and the sash windows would only open at the bottom leaving the opening at a dangerous level for small children. All the taps had to be over turned before any water came through which meant they were often left running as it was difficult to turn them off. The doors to the outside were very difficult to open, making an escape, if there were to be a fire very hazardous. Which leads to the gas safety certificate being out of date! For a cottage that could sleep 8, I found the kitchen under stocked with basic equipment, especially if you used the dishwasher. I am basing my opinion on previous accommodation booked through Cottages4you, this cottage was the most expensive, so I was not impressed.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay at Grange Cottage. The property is thoroughly cleaned to a high standard before each let, we pride ourselves on high standards however we apologise for the shortcomings listed and would like to assure all of our guests that this will be a one-off occurrence. The house was repainted externally in June (2015) and unbeknown to us, some of the sash windows were stuck at the top. Following your comments, we immediately asked the decorator back to free the windows which were stuck. We appreciate you were concerned however, had you contacted us during your stay, we would have addressed the issue of the opening of the lower sashes. Our gas engineer fitted some new parts to the gas boiler in March (2015) and in re-commissioning it after fitting the new parts, did the same checks as are required by the safety certificate, so the certificate may have suggested that the gas boiler had not been serviced for 14 months whereas in fact, it had been fully serviced this spring (2015). The engineer thought that as the old certificate still had 3 months to run, it was a bit early to issue a new one. Fire safety is of utmost importance to us and we appreciate your concerns in regards to the doors. We had an additional key cut for the entrance door and it does not turn as easily as the original. We normally keep it for our own use however; the keys accidentally got switched on the changeover. Should you have voiced your concerns, we could have exchanged the key to the entrance door to solve that problem and tried oiling the lock of the other door to cure it. We would have been pleased to attend immediately to the issues listed had you contacted us during your stay but we appreciate that you were on holiday, in what is a lovely location. We trust you enjoyed your stay in Thirsk and once again, thank you for your comments.

  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 29/05/2015
    The cottage suited our needs. A couple of points - the garden furniture is very old. The doors inside the cottage didn't shut properly which made it difficult to control a 1 year old lad and the keeping the dogs in one place because the doors could just be pushed to open. However we would difinately stay at the cottage again.


View All Guest Reviews
×

8.3 out of 10 – based on 10 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Local Area

Content to be added.

Looking for something with a little more?

Cotages with Hot tubs Cottages part of our Luxury collection Something with a swimming pool A place near the Coast