21,000+ quality-checked cottages 30+ years of cottage holidays 98% would book again No credit card fees New home of cottages4you 21,000+ quality-checked cottages 98% would book again 30+ years of cottage holidays No credit card fees New home of cottages4you
Shortlist
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

Werngochlyn Farm - Granary

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Llantilio Pertholey, near Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Grade 3 Star rating
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

 

Duration

Loading
Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Done
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×
Sleeps6
Bedrooms3
Bathrooms2
Pets 2

Why Us?

  • No credit card fees
  • Secure booking
  • Book 2015 for £25 Low deposit
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers
  • Over 30 years experience
  • 98% of guests would book again

This property is part of our Cottages4you collection

cottages4you

In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


Description

Complete with a shared swimming pool, this property is ideal for that escape to the countryside.

Indoor heated swimming pool/hot tub
BHS Approved Riding Centre

The ancient farmhouse at Werngochlyn dates back to the 12th century. It nestles in open farmland underneath the Skirrid Mountain and the four comfortable holiday cottages are sympathetically converted from stone farm buildings set around the farmyard. The setting is perfect for children of all ages (adults too!). There is plenty of room to run around and explore – and plenty of animals to befriend…. a pair of Kune-kune miniature pigs, a very large Gloucester Old Spot, a donkey, goats, sheep, chickens (you can collect your own eggs for breakfast if you want to), ducks, dogs, cats and loads of horses and ponies – including a tiny rescue pony named Tinkerbell.
You could stay around the farm all day – with a heated, indoor swimming pool, hot tub, games room and riding school on site with tuition for all ages from 4 years plus and then a BBQ in the evening. There are footpaths running directly from the farm and dogs are welcome. You are ideally place to explore the Brecon Beacons, Black Mountains, Usk and Wye Valleys and the fantastic countryside that surrounds the nearest market town of Abergavenny which is only 3 miles away – home of the Food Festival. It boasts good shops and a market, a cinema, theatre, castle and museum as well as good choice of pubs, cafes and restaurants including Michelin starred ‘Walnut Tree’ which is within walking distance of the farm. An 18-hole golf course and driving range is only ½ mile away. An enjoyable stay that will have you wanting to return. Shop 3 miles.

All on ground floor: Living/dining room. Kitchen. 3 bedrooms: 1 double, 2 twin. Bathroom with toilet. Shower room.

Central heating, electricity and bed linen included. Cot. High chair. Electric cooker. Shared laundry room. Dishwasher. Wi-fi. Sitting-out area and picnic bench. Barbecue. Ample parking. Shared indoor heated swimming pool, open 14th March-2nd November. Shared games room. Two pets welcome, under strict control please (livestock). WTB 3 Dragons. NB: Unfenced shallow stream in grounds. No smoking.

Read more 

Features

  • Barbecue
    Barbecue
  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Games Room
    Games Room
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Pets – no charge
    Pets – no charge
  • Rural Location
    Rural Location
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Swimming Pool
    Swimming Pool
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Working Farm
    Working Farm
  • Shared Hot Tub
    Shared Hot Tub
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • Shower Cubicle
    Shower Cubicle

Customer Comments

  • 4

    02/08/2017
    Confirmed guest, 15/07/2017
    Unfortunately the cottage was dirty, dusty and full of spider webs. One night we had heavy rain and the water run down on the inside wall behind my husband's bed.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner: We are extremely sorry that you felt you had to make these comments. We are a farm, and the cottages are very old stone barns with Welsh slate roofs and it is very difficult to keep on top of cobwebs which seem to appear overnight! We have had heavy overnight rain which very occasionally can get under the slates, But you did seem happy enough whenever we saw you - and no complaints were made while you were here. If you felt that the cottage was not cleaned sufficiently we really wish that you had let us know. We are right here and would have been concerned if we felt that our cleaners (who do a stirling job) had missed something and would have immediately taken steps to get it right. We do our best to make your holiday as good as it possibly can be and hope (as so many do) that you might like to return one day.

  • 4

    29/06/2017
    Confirmed guest, 03/06/2017
    The accommodation although spacious was very run down and would have benefited with a thorough clean. The oven door would not close and therefore would not function unless it was wedged shut with the bin. This was reported on the first day after we arrived, but although the owner said it would be fixed that day nothing further was heard. There was a metal carpet edging in the lounge bent up where it had been snapped off which 2 of the party injured their feet on. A shower was barely usable and dirty, the grandchildren used our shower in Cowshed. The mattress cover on one of the twin beds was in shreds. The rubbish facilities were absolutely filthy. The settees were old and very uncomfortable and covered with tatty throes. These may have been updated as a delivery from a charity shop arrived during our stay. The standard of the accommodation was certainly the worst we have ever stayed in over many years of renting holiday accommodation. On the positive side the surrounding were beautiful and very quiet, The swimming pool and hot tub were very good and clean although the changing room and the pool surround were filthy. The enclosed lawned garden was very good. The grandchildren enjoyed the animals and collecting the eggs.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner:- We are really sorry that you had cause to make these complaints - if the cottage was not clean, that is inexcusable - and had you mentioned it to us, we would have done something about it straightaway and made sure that you were completely happy. We did ask you about the oven door on a couple of occasions - and you made it clear that all was then ok. We were not aware that the metal carpet strip had been broken. We would have truly appreciated you reporting this when you saw us daily and we would have immediately done something about it. An injury might have then been avoided. We do very much rely on Guests' observations while you are with us - we can overlook things on changeover day. (The metal strip has been replaced with a wooden one.) We use furniture that we feel fits in with the cottage. The throws are washed weekly and I'm surprised that you think they were tatty. We are very fortunate to have people who love Werngochlyn and the cottages and come back year after year. We are extremely sorry that you were disappointed, but rest assured we take your comments seriously.

  • 8

    29/04/2017
    Confirmed guest, 22/04/2017
    Brilliant value cottages. Richard & Maggie are just wonderful. It is a busy riding school & stable, but it works wonderfully, and the horses are just wonderful to watch. We've stayed twice and have already booked our return visit.


  • 9

    04/03/2017
    Confirmed guest, 02/03/2017
    Lovely, clean cottage, suitable for big families. Perfect for kids. The owners are so friendly. Shame the weather was bad!


  • 7

    14/03/2017
    Confirmed guest, 23/02/2017
    Lovely farm and animals with horse-riding. Good size cottage with hot-tub (shared) -pool not yet open. Negatives were dripping boiler in master bedroom (last inspected 6 years ago according to certificate on it!), no blankets or log fire, bit dirty, poor shower, no simple conveniences in kitchen (oil, foil, cling-film, sugar, tea etc but at least clothe and washing-up liquid provided). Living room smelt of stale smoke. Otherwise very nice place and ran by lovely lady, with excellent walks in area.


  • 10

    28/02/2017
    Confirmed guest, 18/02/2017
    Our second visit here and we love it. Friendly owners, lovely comfy cottage, great variety of farm animals and horses you can cuddle.


View All Guest Reviews
×

7.7 out of 10 – based on 10 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Alternative properties at this location

Sleeps 4 Property Ref: 6254 View Accommodation
Sleeps 4 Property Ref: 6253 View Accommodation
Sleeps 5 Property Ref: 6252 View Accommodation

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers