21,000+ quality-checked cottages 98% would book again 30+ years of cottage holidays No credit card fees New home of cottages4you 21,000+ quality-checked cottages 98% would book again 30+ years of cottage holidays No credit card fees New home of cottages4you
Shortlist
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

Downanhill Farm - Downanhill Cottage

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Ballantrae, Ayrshire
Grade 3 Star rating
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

 

Duration

Loading
Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Done
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×
Sleeps5
Bedrooms3
Bathrooms1
Pets 2

Why Us?

  • No credit card fees
  • Secure booking
  • Book 2015 for £25 Low deposit
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers
  • Over 30 years experience
  • 98% of guests would book again

This property is part of our Cottages4you collection

cottages4you

In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


Description

Only 500 yards to the beach, this semi-detached cottage with an open fire is within easy reach to Glasgow and Edinburgh.

Situated on a working dairy farm, these two semi-detached holiday cottages (refs 28178 and 28179) can be booked together to sleep 10 in total. Boasting spectacular views of Arran, Ailsa Craig, Mull of Kintyre and the south Ayrshire coast, and are a mere 500 yards to the beach. Located directly on the Ayrshire Coastal Path, a long distance walking route, 100 miles along one of the finest panoramic coastlines in the British Isles and teaming with wildlife, including red squirrels, deer, otters, seals and birds. Farm tours are available by prior arrangement. Inland there are gardens and castles to visit, riding, racing and a choice of golf courses. Culzean Castle (National Trust), is spectacular and is Ayrshire’s most popular tourist attraction. Craft shows, country dancing and walks spotting fungi are attractions hosted during the year. Day trips to Ireland can be taken from Cairnryan, whilst a drive north leads to Ayr, a traditional seaside town. Glasgow and Edinburgh are easily reached for a day out. Fishing on site. Shop, pub and restaurant 1½ miles.

All on the ground floor.
Living room: With open fire, Freeview TV and DVD player.
Kitchen: With electric cooker, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher and washing machine.
Bedroom 1: With double bed and double sofa bed.
Bedroom 2: With single bed leading to...
Bedroom 3: With single bed.
Shower room: With shower cubicle and toilet.

Both properties: Oil central heating (£25per week October-March), electricity, bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included. Travel cot and highchair. Enclosed gravelled garden with sitting-out area, garden furniture and barbecue. Shared 220-acre farmland. Pets to be kept on lead, working farm. Bike store. Private parking for 2 cars. Please note: There are sloping banks to the sea 500 yards.

Read more 

Features

  • Barbecue
    Barbecue
  • Bike Store
    Bike Store
  • Detached Property
    Detached Property
  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Ground Floor Facilities
    Ground Floor Facilities
  • Enclosed Garden / Patio
    Enclosed Garden / Patio
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Sea View
    Sea View
  • Open Fire
    Open Fire
  • Pets – no charge
    Pets – no charge
  • Rural Location
    Rural Location
  • Decorated at Christmas
    Decorated at Christmas
  • Wifi
    Wifi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Working Farm
    Working Farm
  • Fishing Nearby/On-site
    Fishing Nearby/On-site
  • Shower Cubicle
    Shower Cubicle

Customer Comments

  • 6

    14/10/2017
    Confirmed guest, 30/09/2017
    After a very long drive from the south of England, we arrived at the dairy. There were no signs to show the direction of the cottage. Unfortunately, the written directions were not much help as they require you to "carry on through the steading" and that the cottage is located at the end of the track. Neither my husband nor myself have any idea what a steading might be. Furthermore, there were a number of 'tracks', each of which we followed to some degree. Prior to our departure, I had telephoned the owner to advise them of our approximate arrival time. As the number supplied was transferred to another telephone, the owner kindly gave me their mobile number. However, for some reason, the mobile number did not save in my directory. Around 7pm, we arrived at the dairy and I telephoned the owner to ask for directions to the cottage. Once again, the call was redirected: this time to a answerphone. I left a message and explained where we were. After looking around to attempt to find the cottage, we came across a car entering the dairy. We thought it might be someone to provide further direction. However, it was another couple trying to locate their holiday accommodation. They googled the address we had and we put that in the sat nav. Aware that we were heading inland and in the wrong direction, we once again found the other couple who informed us that the cottage was at the end of a long track, past the dairy, hidden behind some trees. To be fair, the lights and heating had been put on. No one telephoned nor came to the cottage to see if we had arrived. in fact, there had been no contact from anyone for the entire two weeks we were there. I feel that the lack of contact was very remiss of the owner and a follow up contact would have gone a long way to repairing a rather fraught start to our holiday. The cottage was fairly spacious and generally warm. However, there were areas that need attention. There was no guest information booklet. This would have been very useful, as it would have given information on emergency contacts e.g. doctors, dentist, vets etc. It would also be useful to have some information on local amenities and perhaps sample menus from the local hotel. Although there were three bins outside of the property, there was no information as to which were for compost, recycling or household rubbish. There were no instructions for the dishwasher or the washing machine. The dishwasher worked sporadically and there was no set regime for getting it to work. It also failed to drain at the end of the cycle. I did check the filter to make sure it was clear, but it made no difference to the poor drainage. It would perhaps benefit from a service or replacement. There were only three of the ceiling lights working out of a total of six. There were no replacement bulbs of the necessary type. There was no clothes airer to hang washing to dry/air. Pillows were of very poor quality and not comfortable. The hangars in the wardrobe of the main bedroom were a mishmash and could do with replacing (a clothing shop in Ayr was offering matching hangars free of charge). The kitchen cupboards need cleaning on the outside, and some would benefit from cleaning on the inside. The cupboard under the sink, was particularly bad and contained tins of paint. It was very messy and unclean. It looked as if someone had used the dustpan and brush and the just threw it in the cupboard without emptying it first. We found a potato masher that was without its handle; a wooden spoon (the only one) with significant crack in it; a metal oven dish that needed better cleaning and rusty weighing scales. There was no cafetiere, to make coffee and only one pint glass. Bedroom mirrors were unclean and smeared. The toilet brush had seen better days, and the holder was rusty, and had also seen better days. One afternoon we sat in the 'garden' drinking tea. We had left the back door open and when we went back into the kitchen, there were hundreds of flies flying around. Luckily the door to the rest of the cottage was closed, and there were two cans of fly spray by the sink. We do realise that flies are part and parcel of living in a rural setting, but perhaps it might be an idea to inform guest not to leave doors open as there are so many flies. When it rained, the back door area became flooded. The situation was not helped by the faulty guttering from the adjacent property and the blocked drain in the yard. The details state that a "basket of fuel" for the open fire is included in the rental. The "basket" was, what looked like, a large plastic plant pot. It was less than half full of house coal, which burned for three hours. As there was no discount for renting the cottage for two weeks, one would have assumed that there would have been at least two baskets/plant pots full of fuel. Rather disappointing.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your review of Downanhill Cottage. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay and were initially unable to locate us. When we spoke on the telephone, prior to your arrival, I gave you my mobile telephone number in order that, during your stay, you could reach me anytime by call or text message. It was very unfortunate that you did not take note of this, as all of your concerns could have been addressed at the time. After visiting you on several occasions, being either too early or missing you, and since you did not call or stop in, I assumed that you preferred not to be disturbed. Clearly this was an error on my part, and again, I can only apologise.

  • 9

    20/08/2017
    Confirmed guest, 12/08/2017
    The cottage was in a wonderful location, private, but not Too far from several tourist spots. I would definitely return here.


  • 9

    23/04/2017
    Confirmed guest, 15/04/2017
    We had a brilliant holiday hear and would recommend this cottage to anyone. It's a beautiful location, loads to do and the cottage is great and very comfortable . To top it all off you have the added fun of living on a family dairy farm for your stay. The family kindly let you participate in farm activities which our kids loved. Getting kids close to food production is very important and this family are great at it. We look forward to our next visit next year.


  • 9

    25/02/2017
    Confirmed guest, 24/02/2017
    Had a great stay. We have two young children and the space and sleeping arrangements are ideal. The cottage is family friendly, welcoming and a great base for the area.


  • 10

    21/01/2017
    Confirmed guest, 27/12/2016
    Fantastic cottage just what we needed for christmas. Loved that it was decorated with Christmas decorations a lovely touch. The owner was lovely and extremely helpful and the little extra touches from the farm were lovely. Will definitely be going back for a longer stay.


  • 9

    02/12/2016
    Confirmed guest, 26/11/2016
    Great week, the weather was cold but lovely blue skies, some of the best sunsets we've ever seen, the cottage was lovely, felt like home, the owners were lovely and very helpful and pleasent, would recommend anyone to stay here.


View All Guest Reviews
×

8.7 out of 10 – based on 11 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Alternative properties at this location

Sleeps 4 Property Ref: 28178 View Accommodation

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers