by Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Shortlist
You can view or make payments on your booking by clicking here x.
Back to Search

Down House Cottages - West Down

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Meare, Somerset
Grade 4 Star rating
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39 booking fee.

 

Duration

Loading
Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Done
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
×
Sleeps4
Bedrooms2
Bathrooms2
Pets0

Why Us?

  • No credit card fees*
  • Secure booking
  • Book 2015 for £25 Low deposit
  • Recognised grading standards
  • Exclusive ferry travel offers
  • Over 30 years experience
  • 98% of guests would book again

This property is part of our Cottages4you collection

cottages4you

In superb locations and beautiful settings. Cottages4you gives you a fantastic range of hand-picked properties with quality you can rely on.


Description

This holiday cottage is set in an excellent location to explore and enjoy the wealth of attractions and abundance of wildlife.

Shared use of outdoor heated swimming pool (May to Sept)

These well-presented, unusual and comfortable holiday properties consist of a self-contained, ground floor wing of the owner’s detached, 19th-century home, set within its own grounds, and a detached cottage, set within the owner’s grounds. They have been lovingly converted from former farm buildings, and are surrounded by fields and countryside, which abound with wild life and bird life. Located adjacent to a working farm, this is an excellent, quiet location to explore and enjoy the diversity of attractions in the area.
Set in Meare on the beautiful Somerset levels, within easy driving of Glastonbury, renowned for its annual music festival and legendary Tor. Wells Cathedral, Cheddar Gorge, Wookey Hole Caves, Ham Wall RSPB Reserve and excellent walking on the Mendip Hills are also an easy drive. Enjoy a great day out to the historical, Regency spa town of Bath with its Roman spa bath, or visit the stately home of Longleat, home of Lord Bath and its safari park. Visit Stourhead Gardens (NT) and the traditional seaside resorts of Burnham on Sea, Brean Down and Weston Super Mare with their sandy beaches, ideal for sand surfing.
Local activities include a leisure centre in Wells, 5 miles, golf courses, cycling and a retail factory shopping outlet, 3 miles. Shop and pub 3 miles.

All on ground floor: Living room. Dining room/kitchen with tiled floor. 2 bedrooms: 1 double with en-suite shower room and toilet, 1 twin. Bathroom with toilet.

Economy 7 central heating included. DVD and small library. Stereo/CD. Enclosed lawned garden and furniture.

Both properties: Electricity, bed linen and towels included. Cot and high chair on request. Electric cooker. Microwave. Shared laundry room with washing machine and tumble dryer. Dishwasher. Fridge/freezer. Wi-fi. Shared use of outdoor heated swimming pool (9.1m x 4.6m; depth 0.9m to 1.8m), open May-September on request. Parking (2 cars). No smoking. Both properties refs 18104 and 19586 can be booked together to accommodate 8 people.

Read more 

Features

  • Bungalow
    Bungalow
  • Dishwasher
    Dishwasher
  • Ground Floor Facilities
    Ground Floor Facilities
  • Enclosed Garden / Patio
    Enclosed Garden / Patio
  • Garden / Patio
    Garden / Patio
  • Highchair
    Highchair
  • Romantic Collection
    Romantic Collection
  • Rural Location
    Rural Location
  • Wifi
    Wifi
  • Cot Available
    Cot Available
  • Swimming Pool
    Swimming Pool
  • Washing Machine
    Washing Machine
  • Working Farm
    Working Farm
  • Pets – not allowed
    Pets – not allowed
  • Parking - On Site
    Parking - On Site
  • Shower Cubicle
    Shower Cubicle

Customer Comments

  • 6

    29/07/2017
    Confirmed guest, 28/07/2017
    Very welcoming owners. Property well equipped and comfortable but bathrooms in particular in need of a deep clean. The pool is lovely but the owners rules mean that you cannot spend a sunny day by the pool as it is in their private garden and they will only allow guests from one cottage in at a time. This was quite a blow as "a day by the pool" was quite influential when booking, perhaps we didn't read the Cottage information closely enough? Net curtains would add privacy to the bedrooms when guests/ owners pass to access the pool/ garden.


  • 9

    22/06/2017
    Confirmed guest, 09/06/2017
    We were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the cottage. The owners had overlooked nothing. The cottage was well equipped and there were lovely little touches included like: tea and coffee, a box of shortbread , plenty of plates ,cutlery etc. and a lovely extra touch of a bottle of wine chilled in the fridge. The owners were very friendly and easy to get on with. where it fell down a bit, which was only a small inconvenience , there were no shops in the vicinity and we needed a car to go anywhere. Hence the lower scores for amenities etc.


  • 10

    18/06/2017
    Confirmed guest, 26/05/2017
    A wonderful place to stay, we thoroughly enjoyed our week away, and would certainly stay there again. Ou hosts Mike and Mary were such lovely people, and nothing was too much trouble.


  • 4

    26/03/2017
    Confirmed guest, 20/03/2017
    We only stayed for a weekend but although we had everything we needed the cleanliness let this cottage down. There was mould on the shower head and walls of the shower, the kitchen wall tiles were dirty and the kettle also. We did not use the oven but the grill pan was left dirty and contained grease and foil.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; I am so sorry that you were disappointed with the cleanliness of the cottage. The shower head is an unusual and, I agree, appears to have mould, but I can confirm that it does not! I obviously missed checking the oven when I cleaned the cottage in preparation for your arrival - so if there was a dirty baking tray in there, I can only apologise for my oversight. If you had mentioned it during your stay, I would, of course, have cleaned it for you. Thankfully you did not require the oven so it didn't present a problem to you. Sadly some guests do leave dirty pans or other utensils and I do occasionally fail to spot this and I always appreciate it when someone tells me so that I can put the situation right. Again, the kettle is regularly descaled, but the lid on it (being plastic) has been stained with tea, but the kettle itself works well and is hygienically clean. We will look to replace this kettle so that other guests do not feel that it is dirty.

  • 10

    29/10/2016
    Confirmed guest, 28/10/2016
    We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful holiday home. It was well-equipped, clean and we were made very welcome by the owners. Definitely coming back next year!


View All Guest Reviews
×

8.3 out of 10 – based on 8 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Alternative properties at this location

Sleeps 4 Property Ref: 18104 View Accommodation
Vote in the British Travel Awards for your chance to win great prizes

Vote in the British Travel Awards for
your chance to win great prizes

Vote now

Local Area

Content to be added.

Subscribe to our latest deals & offers

Vote today
×

Be a winner!

Lots of great prizes to be won

Vote for Cottages.com in the British Travel Awards Vote today