By Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Letting your Property | My Booking | Help | Shortlist
Refine search
Back to Search

Beech Farm - Fat Hen Cottage

Wrelton, Pickering Grade 4 Star rating View Map
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £37.00 booking fee.



Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date

Why Us?

This Cottage is brought to you by:

English Country Cottages

From a touch of luxury to characterful heritage, experience one of our truly inspiring holiday properties.


Enjoy a drink at the nearby pub, which is just a short walk away, after a day spent exploring Yorkshire.

"Winner of the Yorkshire Tourist Board’s Self-Catering Holiday of the Year Award four times so quality is assured... indoor pool and sauna . . . delightful location on edge of National Park. . ."

Beech Farm Cottages offer award winning standards of quality and facilities in a quiet village setting at the gateway to the North Yorkshire Moors. The pretty cluster of eight cottages, four of which are featured here, not only have ‘4 Star’ or ‘5 Star’ accommodation, but also have additional features such as an indoor heated swimming pool and sauna, gardens, sun terrace, paddock, children’s play area, two llamas, ponies, chickens and ducks. Beech Farm Cottages have a Gold Award from VisitEngland for their ‘exceptional quality of accommodation and customer service,’ have won the Yorkshire Holiday Cottage of the Year four times and they also have a ‘Green Tourism’ award.
The cottages are set around a pretty courtyard and gardens backing onto open fields. Converted from Grade II listed stone buildings, they retain much of the original charm and character, with beams throughout. The interiors are superbly finished, furnished and equipped and the three larger cottages are rated ‘5 Star’ by the VisitEngland. The indoor heated swimming pool for the exclusive use of visitors to Beech Farm, has a sauna and spa. All the holiday cottages enjoy the shared use of a walled garden, sun terrace, paddock, children’s play area, barbecue area and two llamas, ponies, chickens and ducks in the field.

The small village of Wrelton - listed in the Domesday book - is on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors National Park, which has over 500 sq miles of moorland and forests, and there are country and woodland walks which start in the village. It has a cosy pub within easy walking distance. The North Yorkshire Moors National Park starts only a couple of miles up the road and the heritage coast is within easy reach. Walking, golf, riding, fishing and numerous village pubs and restaurants are all available within a few miles. The North Yorkshire Moors Steam Railway runs from the picturesque market town of Pickering just three miles away. Pickering also has a castle and museum as well as pubs, shops and a range of restaurants. The delights of the seaside are only just over half an hour’s drive away where unspoilt sandy beaches (Runswick Bay, Filey), historic fishing ports (Whitby, Robin Hoods Bay) and resort attractions (Scarborough) can be found. The walled city of York with its minster, museums and historic centre is within 40 minutes’ drive. Other local attractions include Castle Howard, Flamingo Land theme park and zoo, and Rievaulx Abbey. Shops 2 miles.

Facing the lawned terrace and swimming pool, this pretty, detached, single-storey, ‘4 Star’ stone cottage offers very comfortable and well-equipped accommodation for two. Pretty living room with dining area and galley-style fitted kitchen. Double bedroom with 5ft bed. Modern bathroom with over-bath shower and toilet.

  • Freeview TV
  • Ground floor facilities
  • Paddock and meadowland field of 2½ acres
  • Children’s play area
  • Shared indoor heated swimming pool (open all year round – early morning to late evening) with changing room, shower and toilet
  • Sauna (coin-operated – open at pool times)
  • Spa
  • Adult and children’s bicycles available foc

  • Gas ‘coal-effect’ fires included
  • Electricity, full gas central heating, bed linen and towels included
  • Cot and high chairs by arrangement
  • Video
  • DVD
  • Microwave
  • Shared laundry room with washing machine, two tumble dryers (coin-operated), ironing facilities
  • Wi-fi
  • Fax and e-mail service available
  • Parking
  • No smoking


  • Indoor heated swimming pool and whirlpool spa
  • Sauna (coin-operated), changing and shower facilities
  • Well-equipped children’s play and climbing area
  • Walled garden with koi carp pond
  • Paddock and 2½-acre field
  • Barbecue areas
  • Llamas, ponies, chickens and ducks
  • 29 Freeview digital TV channels and 20 digital radio stations

Read more 


  • BarbecueBarbecue
  • Cot AvailableCot Available
  • Ground Floor FacilitiesGround Floor Facilities
  • Garden / PatioGarden / Patio
  • HighchairHighchair
  • Pub within 1 milePub within 1 mile
  • Rural LocationRural Location
  • StairgateStairgate
  • Christmas Themed CottageChristmas Themed Cottage
  • WifiWifi
  • Baby and Toddler FriendlyBaby and Toddler Friendly
  • Swimming PoolSwimming Pool
  • Car Parking AvailableCar Parking Available
  • Washing MachineWashing Machine
  • Heritage CollectionHeritage Collection
  • Green SchemeGreen Scheme

Customer Comments

  • 3

    Confirmed guest, 2015-08-15
    The host was really nice and friendly, they made us a cake. The accommodation unfortunately fell far short of the 4 star we had paid for. It was the little things and attention to detail- for example broken furniture, a tin opener that didn't work, a dirty shower head, odd numbers of plates etc. The cot was rickety and the swimming pool water cold.

    Response from: Administrator

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your comments after your visit. We are sorry we did not have the opportunity to deal with your concerns while you were here to ensure you left totally happy. We are available at any time to help our visitors and we normally receive exceptionally high ratings for our customer service. The cottage is inspected annually and is rated as Four Star by “cottages4you” and VisitEngland, who also gave it a Gold Award for “the exceptional quality of accommodation and customer service” Most visitors and inspectors comment on how exceptionally clean the cottages are and how “we think of everything”. We were not aware of any broken furniture. If we had known we would have dealt with it immediately. We would happily have replaced the tin opener if you had told us. In regards to the shower head, hopefully the dirt was only limescale (we are in a hard water area so it builds up quickly). We regularly check & clean the shower heads. Apologies if there was some limescale on this occasion. Although the cottage is only for two people, it has four of everything (small & large plates, bowls and mugs), plus a china tea set for 2 laid out, with a cake, when visitors arrive. Sorry you found the wooden cot rickety. There might have been a bolt loose. We normally check the bolts for tightness and I am sorry this was not done with your cot – again we would have done it we had known or offered you a replacement travel cot. In regards to the swimming pool temperature the water is warm by indoor pool standards, 28-29°. As you had a young baby, maybe you were expecting warm, bath water temperature in the pool? This is not practical for a large pool that is up to 2 meters deep. I will make sure we make this clear to anyone with a young baby in future.

View All Guest Reviews

8.6 out of 10 – based on 9 reviews collected by Reevoo

You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Alternative properties at this location

Sleeps 10 Property Ref: KVQ View Accommodation
Sleeps 6 Property Ref: KVR View Accommodation
Sleeps 4 Property Ref: KVU View Accommodation

Local Area

Content to be added.

You are now on our new website!

We've made changes to help you browse accommodation on your phone, tablet or desktop. Please let us know what you think by answering a few questions on our short survey below.

Give your feedback Continue

Take me back to the old site