By Wyndham Vacation Rentals

Alum Bay Cottage

Price Match Guarantee
We guarantee that our prices are the same as those featured on .
Grade 4 Star rating
Select your date and duration:
Prices are per property not per person includes a £37.00 booking fee.



Available Start Date
Unavailable Days
Selected Start Date
Looking to leave tonight, or arrive on a different day?
Call us on 0345 498 6900Call us on 0345 498 6900
Pets 2

Why Us?

This Cottage is brought to you by:

Welcome Cottages

Lakeside, seaside, countryside, hillside...wherever you can picture your perfect cottage, you'll find it with Welcome Cottages!


This lovely Victorian family house is ideal for larger groups of family or friends, with a play room for the children and large gardens to relax in.

Surrounded by spectacular, panoramic sea and downland views, this spacious, romantic, detached Victorian home is set within 3 acres of paddock and private gardens, the sun can be seen setting over the western Solent every evening from the garden gate. The house is within walking distance of many attractions including Tennyson monument, Headon Warren, Freshwater Bay, Totland Bay, Alum Bay and The Needles. This characterful property is an ideal choice for couples or families looking forward to spending quality time together, and to enjoy this delightful island. From almost every room in the house you can see beautiful, uninterrupted views of the surrounding countryside and sea. There is a large reception room with an Aga that leads into a well-equipped farmhouse style kitchen, the stylish living room features a wood-burning stove and the dining room has French doors opening out onto the large, lawned garden. There is even a play room for the children to enjoy a variety of toys, books and games. Upstairs there is a large bathroom with separate toilet and two charming double bedrooms, one with an en-suite bathroom and another with a wash basin and feature fireplace. Furthermore there are two light and airy twin bedrooms.
Alum Bay Cottage is only 1½ miles from Freshwater town offering shops, library, indoor swimming pool, pubs and restaurants. It is also in a superb area to explore the many walking routes including the Tennyson Trail, named after the famous poet who resided just down the road at Farringford. There are many beaches to enjoy; nearby you will find the sandy beach of Colwell Bay, and further south there are the golden dark sands of Compton Beach and Brook Bay, which not only have views of the white cliffs of Freshwater but are also a great place to find fossils. At low tide dinosaur footprints can even be found at Hanover Point.
The Isle of Wight has many other attractions to visit including the famous rock formation and lighthouse at The Needles, which has a chairlift down to Alum Bay, as well as traditional children’s rides and glass making demonstrations, and Chessell Pottery, a working pottery with a paint studio where you can make a memento to take home with you. Enjoy a fun day out at Blackgang Chine, the UK’s oldest amusement park featuring rides, life-sized dinosaurs, pirate ships, fairy villages and so much more. Outdoor pursuits include golf (nearby Freshwater), cycling, riding, sailing, fishing and diving. Shops 1½ miles, pub a 1-mile walk over the Downs.

Large reception room with Aga (for heating only), flagstone and part wood floor leading to well-equipped farmhouse-style kitchen with tiled floor. Spacious living room with wood-burning stove. Dining room with French doors. TV/play room with selection of toys, games, books and jigsaws. Boot room. Separate toilet. First floor: Double bedroom with 5ft brass bed and en-suite bathroom with toilet. Double bedroom with cast-iron bed and wash basin. Two twin bedrooms, one with single 2ft 6in (for child available on request). Bathroom with shower cubicle. Separate toilet.

Wood-burning stove - initial fuel included, thereafter available locally. Electricity, full oil central heating, bed linen and towels included. Cot. High chair. Two Freeview TVs with digibox. Two DVDs. CD. Microwave. Washing machine. Tumble dryer. Dishwasher. Freezer. Two additional fridges. Wi-fi. Large, enclosed lawned garden with furniture, and paddock area at one end. Barbecue. Parking (for 4 cars). Cycle store. Croquet set, hammocks and badminton net. Baby accessories. No smoking.

Read more 


  • BarbecueBarbecue
  • Bike StoreBike Store
  • Detached PropertyDetached Property
  • DishwasherDishwasher
  • Enclosed Garden / PatioEnclosed Garden / Patio
  • Garden / PatioGarden / Patio
  • Ideal for GolfIdeal for Golf
  • HighchairHighchair
  • Pub within 1 milePub within 1 mile
  • Sea ViewSea View
  • Rural LocationRural Location
  • StairgateStairgate
  • Woodburning StoveWoodburning Stove
  • Christmas Themed CottageChristmas Themed Cottage
  • WifiWifi
  • Baby and Toddler FriendlyBaby and Toddler Friendly
  • Cot AvailableCot Available
  • Washing MachineWashing Machine
  • Coastal PropertyCoastal Property
  • Car Parking - On SiteCar Parking - On Site

Customer Comments

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 31/10/2016
    Lovely place, excellent stay. Upstairs shower is broken, runs hot then cold.

  • 4

    Confirmed guest, 30/09/2016
    Fantastic location but a bit run down and too many flies!

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; We're so sorry you were subjected to the horrible cluster flies! They arrive at the window of the master bedroom every couple of years (and are particularly attracted to light-coloured houses, that are deep in the countryside apparently). Had we known you were having an issue we’d have sent someone over straight away to get rid of them for you. They are now gone. We agree that the house needs some redecoration. (This is factored into the current price). We have a programme of improvements and redecoration starting in the new year.

  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 16/09/2016
    Stunning location and views with fabulous walks across the Downs straight from the house. Great gardens to relax and enjoy the views. Internally the house needs some TLC - cloakrooms and kitchen need updating although this did not spoil our stay.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 09/09/2016
    Excellent, comfortable family house with plenty of room inside and out. Well furnished but baby and toddler-friendly (i.e. not so grand that you worry about every scratch or dirty mark). Plenty of crockery and cutlery, though a smaller wooden spoon and a lemon squeezer would have been appreciated. Games, books, toys all provided. We couldn't find any clothes pegs, but were sure there must be some, given how well equipped the house is generally. Possible, but not very easy without a car. Wonderful views and good walking from the house itself.

  • 3

    Confirmed guest, 12/08/2016
    We stayed at Alum Bay Cottage in August and were completely disappointed with our stay and how the owner dealt with us. The accomodation is not up to the high standard it claims it should be. The downstairs of the house was riddled with damp and there were mouldy patches on the walls. The soft furnishings and decor were in need of replacement and quite stained in places. This is not acceptable and we felt deceived as we had paid a lot of money to stay here. One positive note - the location of this house is superb and we enjoyed sunset walks, and flying kites with the children all within a short walk but this house needs some desperate TLC and I would seriously recommend any future guests reconsider this house as a place for their holiday.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your feedback. It is, however, extremely disappointing that all of our collective efforts (ourselves, the Area Manager, numerous Customer Service Operators, our handyman and the utilities engineers), was not enough to satisfy you. Neither was our generous offer of compensation that was accepted. During the initial conversation with these guests (early on their first morning), following a litany of complaints they took great offence to a genuine enquiry as to whether they were planning to leave the house. As they clearly were keen to stay, we made every effort to satisfy them and make them happy. This included: numerous telephone calls, emails and texts, all dealt with immediately. We arranged multiple visits from our handyman to “fix” a window which wasn’t broken but which they claimed was “dangerous”. They completely, however, missed the fact that we put a child safety device on it for them. This they only realised when showing it to the Area Manager, who also came out to visit them on their last day. We advertise that the house has all the amenities needed, and is set in what is a genuinely spectacular setting. In addition, all the photographs are recent, and represent the house as it is; therefore we are unsure as to what exactly these guests were expecting. The star rating is set by the letting agents, and they write the description with our input. The guests immediately prior to and following these guests, had no complaints and wrote very lovely reviews in the visitors book. One family went home and immediately booked to come again next year. It is such a shame that these guests could not enjoy the house more, in what was a completely glorious week of sunshine, as opposed to spending so much time: on the phone, taking nearly 50 photos, writing letters of complaint and sending emails. Despite the guests’ claims, we confirm we do not have a damp issue at the house. We agree there is redecoration and updating which needs to be completed (which is factored into the current pricing level). This programme of improvements is planned to begin in the New Year, which we do hope our future guests will enjoy.

  • 8

    Confirmed guest, 22/07/2016
    Lovely house and grounds but in my opinion in need of some TLC. We had a fantastic time and were blessed with good weather.

  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 15/07/2016
    Generally a great house. The kitchen is really really small for a house that sleeps 10. There is no draining board and only 2 tea towels provided. Kids play room was great, garden fantastic, comfy beds. We had a wonderful time.

  • 7

    Confirmed guest, 27/06/2016
    Beautiful location just the mattresses were a little old and uncomfortable and the shower did not work correctly and they were not going to fix it for us while we were there this was dissapointing for us. We managed with the bath and shower but I felt this should have been in full working order for us.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; Thank you for your feedback. We did leave a clear notice in the bathroom to explain that the problem sometimes experienced with the shower is totally a Southern Water ‘flow’ issue, not an Alum Bay Cottage one. (As we also explained, it doesn’t happen if the shower is the only water user at the time). We are regularly chasing Southern Water to fix this as quickly as possible. Unfortunately, as with any utility, there is only so much we can do given that we cannot take direct action ourselves and dig up the water pipes. (If we could we definitely would….). We’re also sorry you didn’t get on too well with the mattresses. We haven't had any complaints previously, but have decided to replace a number of them anyway to ensure everyone is comfortable.

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 06/05/2016
    A delightful house in a lovely location

  • 10

    Confirmed guest, 28/03/2016
    The shower was a little low on pressure but we absolutely loved the house. The owners are really thoughtful! Loved the linen and towels and all the notes to help you get the most out of the house! Thank you for letting us stay!!

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; Thanks for your input regarding the shower pressure which has now been resolved. We're very happy you had such a good stay; it's always lovely to hear that our efforts have been appreciated and the house enjoyed.

  • 9

    Confirmed guest, 19/02/2016
    Excellent. We appreciated the well equipped children room, the fire was a pleasure, and the beds were comfortable.

View All Guest Reviews

7.7 out of 10 – based on 17 reviews collected by Reevoo
You can use a postcode, location or attractions to calculate your drive time.

Local Area

Content to be added.

Looking for something with a little more?

Cotages with Hot tubs Cottages part of our Luxury collection Something with a swimming pool A place near the Coast